Welcome to Bayou and Beyond, the new official blog for the University of Houston-Clear Lake Archives and Special Collections in the Alfred R. Neumann Library in coastal Houston, Texas! This is the first post for the new blog to provide you with an introduction and vision for what the UHCL Archives plans for in future posts and how this blog will be utilized. Founded in 1989, UHCL Archives and Special Collections' mission is to collect, preserve, and make publicly accessible original historical archival materials for use by Archives’ constituents for research and preservation of community history. The Archives main focus is to serve as the primary repository for historically-valuable, original materials that document the origins, development, activities, and achievements of the University of Houston-Clear Lake (UHCL), and its affiliated centers and subunits.
Installation of the new Bayou Building sign outside of the Bayou Building on the campus of the University of Houston-Clear Lake [from UHCL Photograph Collection, UHCL Archives and Special Collections].
The UHCL Archives’ guiding duty is to serve as a research center for the study of history and institutional memory of the University, and to promote knowledge and understanding of the origins, programs, goals, and accomplishments of the University. Over the years, the UHCL Archives and Special Collection has expanding its holdings into the following collecting areas:
These materials are open for research to UHCL students, alumni, faculty, staff and the general public.
Cover of the original program for the Groundbreaking Ceremony for the University of Houston at Clear Lake City, on Wednesday, May 1, 1974 [from the UHCL Reference Collection, UA-0-1, UHCL Archives and Special Collections].
In order to meet these goals of providing greater access to our holdings, the UHCL Archives is turning to the use of a blog in order to disseminate historical content, collection information, and other program information related to the Archives' main collecting areas. We are hoping that researchers, UHCL campus members, and the general public will find the historical content of our blog posts historically reliable and accurate, engaging, and raising awareness of historical information that may not have been known previously. We encourage UHCL faculty and students to use the blog's posts for classes and projects, or as reference points to assist with aspects of research work.
Bayou and Beyond will focus the content of its posts on meaningful, helpful, and interesting content with defined topics and content:
History Highlights from the collections for UHCL, human space flight, and Clear Lake Area history
Histories about events, programs, sites/locations, projects, organizations, etc., from the history of UHCL, human space flight, and Clear Lake Area history
Posts featuring biographies and histories of archival collection creators
Artifact Spotlights
Intern-written blog posts
Exhibit announcements
Events, projects, and programs involving the UHCL Archives
We hope you will enjoy the new content, as we will endeavor to publish 1-2 new posts per week. You can subscribe to the blog using just an email address, and will receive the newest blog posts straight in your email! Or, you can bookmark our blog's webpage on your browser and periodically stop in to see what is new in the world of UHCL Archives and Special Collections. Also, the blog features a Month and Year-based posts archive, if you would like to look through past content.
To learn more about the UHCL Archives and Special Collections, check out our main LibGuides research guide webpage here: https://uhcl.libguides.com/UHCLArchivesandSpecialCollections.
| Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002 |
0 Comments.