Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Clear Lake Area Collection

Information on the Clear Lake Area Collection at the UHCL Archives and Special Collections; created by Erin Henry and Matthew M. Peek

Collections

The Clear Lake Area Collection of the University of Houston-Clear Lake Archives and Special Collections contains archival materials documenting the intellectual, multicultural, social, political, environmental, and economic aspects of the regional history and development of the greater Clear Lake Area of coastal Houston, Texas. For collecting purposes, the UHCL Archives defines the Clear Lake Area as the bayside region in parts of Harris and Galveston County in southeast Texas, along the coast line of Clear Lake and Galveston Bay, including the following cities and towns: Clear Lake City, Clear Lake Shores, Webster, Kemah, League City, Nassau Bay, Seabrook, Taylor Lake Village, and parts of Houston and Pasadena that touch on the University’s service areas. Geographically, the Clear Lake Area is defined by the bodies of water in it and around it, such as Clear Lake, Taylor Lake, Clear Creek, and Galveston Bay.

The materials include original historical materials from local organizations and neighborhoods, such as neighborhood newsletters and business organizations. The Clear Lake Area Collection include donations from local businesses, organizations, neighborhood groups, and current and former residents who have contributed to the local history and development of these communities. UHCL Archives' holdings represent one of the largest group of original materials documenting the Clear Lake Area in the state of Texas.

The arranged and described collections that make up the Clear Lake Area Collection have been assigned collection numbers, are arranged in numbered boxes and folders for ease of location and access, and have a completed collection finding aid (an inventory containing collection information and description). Most of these collections have finding aids (or inventories) accessible online through the UHCL Neumann Library Institutional Repository under the UHCL Archives and Special Collections holdings. Those that are not available online have finding aids that can be obtained from the UHCL Archives staff upon request. 

Collections in the the Clear Lake Area Collection available for research are listed in the "Finding Aids and Collection Access Points" page, in alphabetical order by collection title. Links to all collections which have finding aids online are attached to the collection name on that page, along with brief descriptions of the collections' scope of materials.

 

 

 

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002