UHCL staff and academic departments are encouraged to consult the University of Houston System Records Retention Schedule, to see if records they have, either physical or digital, fit within a given records series and retention period that requires consultation with or transfer to the institution archives (i.e. UHCL Archives and Special Collections). You can view specifics about the UHS Records Retention Schedule on the UHCL Office of Compliance and Ethics' Records Retention Guidelines page here: https://www.uhcl.edu/compliance/record-retention-guidelines.
The UHCL Archives requires that a records transfer form be filled out by the UHCL staff member completing the transfer of physical or digital records to the Archives. Individuals with immediate ownership of the records, those whose job position requires management of the records, or those who are department/unit supervisors documents, are allowed to fill out transfer paperwork for records. Each UHCL department/unit may authorize an individual to complete the transfer form on the program, department, unit, or project's behalf. Those transferring records to the Archives are referred to in paperwork as "transfer agents."
The transfer of material from a university department or office to the UHCL University Archives. officially transfers legal custody to the University Archives upon the receipt of the records by the UHCL Archives Associate Director with completed paperwork. Transfer agents must follow the instructions on the transfer form, including providing a basic inventory of materials being transferred to the Archives and basic descriptions that will help the Archives arrange and describe the materials more quickly. Transferred materials without adequate historical significance or matching UHS Records Retention Schedule requirements required will be disposed according to the UHCL Archives and Special Collections Collection Policy. Please note that transferred records cannot be recalled by the department or office once transferred and accepted by the UHCL Archives. Access to the records will be provided in the UHCL Archives and Special Collections reading room within Archives' location in Alfred R. Neumann Library in the Bayou Building. Simple reference questions from the transferring department can be answered by UHCL Archives staff, and reproduction requests for copies or scans of records that can be located will be provided for free to the requesting department. Large amounts of documents or documents over 100 pages will take time to copy or scan, and UHCL Archives staff will complete reproduction requests as soon as possible.
Those wishing to transfer records to the UHCL Archives should contact the Archives by calling our main phone number (281) 283-3962, or email us at archives@uhcl.edu.
| Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002 |