UHCL Archives and Special Collections

NASA Alumni League, Johnson Space Center Chapter, Internship Position

Position Title: NAL Space History Collections Intern

Description

The University of Houston-Clear Lake (UHCL) Archives and Special Collections is seeking to fill the position for a paid internship working with archival collections documenting human space flight history held within the Archives. This internship is funded through the NASA Alumni League, Johnson Space Center Chapter (more can be learned about the program here: https://blog.uhcl.edu/news/uhcl-nasa-alumni-league-launch-human-space-flight-archive-internship-endowment). Interested applicants can learn more about the UHCL Archives by exploring this LibGuides research guide on our holdings and operations, and watch a tour video: https://uhcl.libguides.com/UHCLArchivesandSpecialCollections.

The internship program aims to provide interns with a well-rounded learning experience working in archives and special collections. The intern will work with collections and materials from the UHCL Archives’ Human Space Flight Collection, which is composed of papers largely of former NASA Johnson Space Center personnel. The internship will focus on archival arrangement and description of unorganized collections (i.e. processing) from former Johnson Space Center scientists, engineers, and other personnel in order to make the collections accessible to researchers and the general public. The intern will also be exposed to the processes of archival collection acquisition, donor relations, collections management, outreach for archival collections, and metadata creation through working with the UHCL Archives’ Associate Director and Archivist.

Duties

• Process assigned collections, including physical arrangement, rehousing, preservation treatments, etc. The candidate will process between 3-6 archival collections of varying sizes and material formats.
• Generate EAD-formatted, DACS-based Microsoft Word finding aids.
• Adding completed finding aids to the UHCL Archives’ new content management system ArchivesSpace.
• Assist UHCL Archives staff in communicating with archives constituents and colleagues, including donors and volunteers.
• Assist Archives staff with reference services and tours as needed.

Qualifications

Required qualifications include:        

• Senior-level undergraduate student completing a degree program in history, museum studies, archival studies, library science, public history, anthropology, or related field; a 1st or 2nd-year graduate student seeking to complete an advanced degree in one of the following fields:
  • History, museum studies, archival studies, library science, public history, anthropology, or related field
• Undergraduate or graduate coursework in American history
• Ability to communicate effectively, orally and in writing
• Strong research skills
• Detail-oriented with excellent organizational skills
• Familiarity with computer databases and Microsoft Office Suite (Word, Excel, etc.)
• Ability to work independently as well as with students, staff, and volunteers

                                    Preferred Qualifications

• Experience working in archives or libraries 
• Basic familiarity with arrangement and description of archival collections.  

Required Application Package: Cover letter, resume, and unofficial transcripts.

Note to Applicants: Please send application package to Matthew Peek, Associate Director, UHCL Archives and Special Collection, at peek@uhcl.edu. Apply by June 9, 2025, for consideration. Interviews will begin starting the week of June 11, 2025, with candidate selection made by end of day July 11, 2025. University of Houston System students who will have paid student worker positions or internships with a system campus are not eligible for this position due to UHCL HR requirements.

SALARY: $10.50/hr.

Schedule: Schedule is flexible. Funding supports an intern for a total of 220 paid hours. Interns can have one of two following schedules: work 7 hours maximum per week for 30 weeks during the academic year (September-May); or 220 hours in one Fall or Spring semester (average 15-16 hours per week) for 14-15 weeks for those candidates using the internship for graduate practicum or internship experience.