UHCL Archives and Special Collections

To ensure the accessibility, security and preservation of records, the UHCL Archives and Special Collections has established the following regulations for the Archives reading room. Reading Room Usage Rules are listed on a separate page of this guide, and available in-person at the UHCL Archives. All researchers must agree to comply with the regulations prior to and while using archival materials. Failure to follow the regulations will result in limitation or loss of reading room access and services by Archives staff.

Researchers must complete this form and present a valid photo ID (NASA employee badge, NASA contractor bade, student/staff ID, driver’s license, etc.) to UHCL Archives staff in order to be allowed to access archival materials. As of October 2024, the NASA Johnson Space Center History Collection is only open for research in-person to the following researchers, under federal United States government Export Control Regulations and International Traffic in Arms (ITAR) regulations: badged NASA employees; badged NASA contractors; UHCL faculty; UHCL staff; and UHCL students meeting federal requirements (some international students may be restricted from accessing the collection). These authorized researchers must present appropriate photo identification to UHCL Archives staff, and record the ID type and ID number on the registration form.

The registration process is required only once per week; researchers may simply sign in on the Archives visitor sign-in sheet for subsequent visits within a week. Each visitor is required to sign-in on our sign-in sheet located at the Archives reference desk before being provided access to archival materials. Information gathered on the visitor sign-in sheet and researcher registration form is used by the UHCL Archives to document use of archival materials for security and statistical reasons, maintain a record of reference requests for annual reporting, and have a record of your past requests should you need to reference previously-used collections in the future.

We will also use this contact information to contact you regarding additional information you may have requested regarding collections, or to supply you with archival item reproductions. All contact information remains protected by UHCL Archives staff, in accordance with state and federal laws.