Humanities - Research Guides at University of Houston-Clear Lake

Guides
Recommended Databases

Showing 4 Guides

Jan 16, 2025 97

HIST 5238: Weimar Cinema and the Great War

Feb 27, 2025 18

HIST 5434: Studies in Latin American History

Jan 14, 2025 146

Humanities

Mar 20, 2025 1013

UHCL Archives and Special Collections

Showing 21 Databases

Key Resources - highly recommended for this subject

Key Resource

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB)

Seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences chosen by the American Council of Learned Societies; permits unlimited course reserve and classroom use

Key Resource

Documentary History of the First Federal Congress

Covers correspondence of key figures from America’s founding era 1789-1791

Key Resource

Humanities Source

Selected full text articles from approximately 1,400 journals in literature, history, the creative arts, and humanities

Key Resource

JSTOR

Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics

Key Resource

Project MUSE Electronic Journals

Full text articles from journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences

Key Resource New

ProQuest African American Heritage

ProQuest® African American Heritage is a groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research.

Key Resource Featured

Swank Digital Campus

Swank Digital Campus provides streaming videos requested by UHCL faculty. All films can be viewed legally both on and off campus.

Key Resource New

Schlager Digital Library

An essential collection of over 2,500 primary sources specially selected to support courses of study across U.S and world history, ethnic and gender studies, American government, and religious studies.

Additional Databases - these also may be helpful, depending on the nature of your topic

America: History & Life

Selected full text articles from journals on U.S. and Canadian history and culture with some coverage of books and conference papers

Dissertations & Theses @ University of Houston-Clear Lake

Written by UHCL graduates; selected full text

Dissertations & Theses Global

Describes doctoral dissertations and master's theses; includes full text for most added since 1997

Gale Literature

Full text content from multiple Gale databases, including Contemporary Authors, Literature Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and more

more...

Gale Literature Resource Center

Selected full text of critical essays, book reviews, author biographies and interviews, and more, including National Public Radio transcripts and audio files

Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies

Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy

Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.

Literary Reference Center

Full text plot summaries, critical essays, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, and more

Loeb Classical Library

English-language full text of Latin and Greek classical works, including poetry, drama, philosophical texts, oratory, and more

MLA Directory of Periodicals (Modern Language Association)

Describes approximately 5,500 journals, including scope, circulation, and submission requirements

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text

Select full text articles from journals relevant to literature, language, and linguistics, plus coverage for book essays, books, and dissertations

Religion & Philosophy Collection

Selected full text articles from journals and magazines relevant to theology, religion, and philosophy

Women's Studies International

Selected full text articles from journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and more

Search

Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.