UHCL Archives and Special Collections

Part-Time Processing Archivist, Archives and Special Collections (Part-Time Temporary Position)

University of Houston - Clear Lake https://www.uhcl.edu/

Founded in 1989, the University of Houston-Clear Lake Archives and Special Collections mission is to collect, preserve, and make publicly accessible original historical archival materials for use by its constituents for research and preservation of community history. The Archives main focus is to serve as the primary repository of institutional records for the University of Houston-Clear Lake (UHCL). The UHCL Archives and Special Collection has the following collecting areas and collections in its holdings: University Archives, Human Space Flight Collection, Clear Lake Area Collection, and the Johnson Space Center (JSC) History Collection. These materials are open for research to UHCL students, alumni, faculty, staff and the general public. The UHCL Archives holds one of the largest human space flight archival collections in the United States, and is the primary repository for historical records for the Clear Lake Area of Texas. The UHCL Archives website is here for more information: https://www.uhcl.edu/library/archives/ 

Position Description

Reporting to the Associate Director of the UHCL Archives and Special Collections (Archives), the Part-Time Processing Archivist will assist in processing archival collections, and conducting reference work and filling duplication requests for archival materials. This position is planned to work for 18 hours per week for 6 months. 

Brief Summary of Duties and Responsibilities

• Processes archival collections under the supervision of the Associate Director, and in keeping with the UHCL Archives processing standards. Creates finding aids, and enters finding aids in the ArchivesSpace content management system
• Provides reference services as needed to UHCL staff, students, and public researchers in locating and reproducing materials as needed, including making digital reproductions of archival materials for researchers and the Archives’ community partners
• Communicates with archives constituents and UHCL Libraries colleagues, including with the Archives’ partners at the NASA History Office and Archives regarding the Johnson Space Center History Collection, housed at the UHCL Archives

Qualifications

Required:

• Completion of a graduate degree program (M.A. or M.L.I.S.) from an accredited college or university in Archives, Library Science, Museum Studies, Public History, History or related field.
  • Preference given to those with formal training in archival processing, archives management, and archival preservation or commensurate experience
• Minimum 1-2 years’ experience working in an archives setting, including work processing archival collections. Any combination of acceptable training, on-the-job experience and/or education will be considered.
• Basic computer, phone, photocopying, and scanning skills; familiarity with MS Word, MS Excel, Microsoft 365 apps, email, and databases
• Good interpersonal skills and the ability to interact with the public and university staff
• Possess excellent oral and written communication skills in order to respond to researchers, staff, faculty, and students
• Ability to work independently
• Ability to handle detail work with accuracy
• Ability to multi-task a variety of projects
• Ability to lift and carry library material weighing 45 lbs. to shoulder height, and push book carts weighing 100 lbs

Preferred Qualifications:

• Experience using and entering metadata in ArchivesSpace content management system
• 1-2 years of experience processing archival collections

REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS: Cover letter, resume, and unofficial transcripts

NOTES TO APPLICANT: Applications due by August 8, 2025. Please send application package to Matthew Peek, UHCL Archives and Special Collections Associate Director, at peek@uhcl.edu, with email subject line “Part-Time Archivist Position”. Position open until filled. 

SALARY: $23 per hour

SCHEDULE: 18 hours per week for 6 months (potential for renewal depending on funds)