UHCL Archives and Special Collections

Archives Collection Management Student Worker Employee Application

Archives Collection Management Student Worker (UHCL Archives and Special Collections)

Description

The University of Houston-Clear Lake (UHCL) Archives and Special Collections is seeking to fill a student worker position to assist Archives staff with major collection management work to improve the physical and intellectual control of its holdings of historic UHCL records, Clear Lake Area history materials, and Human Space Flight materials. The work will involve physically relocating boxes full of archival records, artifacts, and other materials, to improve storage in the Archives’ storage rooms. The work will also assist the Archives in updating UHCL records collections’ descriptions as part of the Archives commemoration of UHCL’s 50th anniversary. Work may include learning how to arrange and describe archival materials, perform preservation work on archival materials, and relabeling collection boxes. Due to security requirements and restrictions with the NASA Johnson Space Center and Human Space Flight Collections in the UHCL Archives, this position must be a U.S. citizen and cannot be an international student.

Interested applicants can learn more about the UHCL Archives by exploring this LibGuide on our holdings and operations, and watch a tour video: https://uhcl.libguides.com/UHCLArchivesandSpecialCollections

Duties

• Assisting Archives staff to shift or relocate over 2,400 linear feet of archival materials on storage shelves.
• Help remove old archival collection box labels, relabel boxes with new labels, and tracking changes to ensure correct materials are labeled.
• Review and update old UHCL Archives collections’ finding aids to new finding aid format (finding aids are inventories with descriptions, historical information, and container inventories of the materials in the archival collections).
• Assist Archives staff in rehousing or reboxing archival materials to improve long-term storage, and replace old or damaged archival boxes.
• Assists Archives staff with reference services and tours as needed

Qualifications

Required qualifications include:        

• Junior or senior-level undergraduate student, or a 1st or 2nd-year graduate student
• Undergraduate or graduate coursework in history (minimum 6 credit hours)
• Detail-oriented individual with excellent organizational skills
• Familiarity with computer databases and Microsoft Office Suite (Word, Excel, etc.)
• Ability to communicate effectively, orally and in writing
• Ability to work independently as well as with students, staff, and volunteers
• Position requires high level of physical mobility, as well as the ability to lift and carry 50 lbs.

Preferred Qualifications

• Experience working in archives or libraries 

Required Application Documents: Cover letter, resume, and unofficial transcripts.

Note to Applicants: Interviews will begin starting right away, with candidate selection made by end of April 17, 2024. Position start date slated for May 15 or 22, 2024.

SALARY: $11.50/hr.

Number of Hours per Week: Position supports a student worker for 18 hours a week for up to 4 months, with a minimum of 3 months required for position.

Schedule: Schedule is flexible depending on successful applicant within UHCL Archives’ operation hours. Position may be renewable depending on amount of collection management work remaining.  

Select Begin to start your application.

Begin Application