GIS and Data Resources

Supported by the Arizona Geographic Information Council (AGIC) and the Arizona State Land Department. Data on AZGeo includes GIS layers for administrative boundaries, demographics, environmental factors, hydrology, imagery, indices, mining, natural features, transportation, and more.

Data from the US Board for Geographic Names, the Federal standard for geographic nomenclature. Includes features for all 50 stats in a pipe-delimited TXT file, including feature name and ID, state, county, and latitude/longitude coordinates.

(1790- ) U.S. Census data tables and mapping files

Geographic data extracts from OpenStreetMap including buildings, landuse, places, roads, waterways and more, available in SHP files

Boundaries, roads, address information, water features, population & housing counts, and more

Data such as mines, fires, wild horses, and energy available by state.

Access to many US national datasets

Data such as climate, watershed, and soil are available

Data for superfund sites, brownfields, air quality reports, and more

FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources.

From the USDA, this food atlas also has a downloadable Excel document so you can create your own foodshed maps and documents.

The USGS Gap Analysis Program has four primary data sets – land cover, protected areas, species and aquatic.

Allows you to download data about or deriving from area health resources, active grants, health centers, the RN national survey data, and more

U.S. oil and gas maps, geospatial data and software from the U.S. Energy Information Administration

Access to many types of national data, including: agriculture, biology, boundaries, climate, environment, geology, government, history, map reference, people, transportation, and water

Basemaps, ocean and coastal, atmospheric, fisheries, and weather data

A set of nationwide geographic databases of transportation facilities, transportation networks, and associated infrastructure from the U.S. Department of Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Statistics. These datasets include spatial information for transportation modal networks and intermodal terminals, as well as the related attribute information for these features.

U.S. Department of Energy National Renewable Energy Laboratory provides maps, data and tools for renewable energy resources that determine which energy technologies are viable solutions in domestic and international regions

Funded by the National Science Foundation, this portal povides integrated access to high-resolution topographic data and web-based processing tools

Regional maps

Provides scientists and environmental resource managers access to downscaled climate projections and other data resources

National hydrography, groundwater, and watershed data

Faculty salaries and demographics, college enrollment, degrees conferred, diversity, finances, technology usage and more, as compiled by The Chronicle of Higher Education

U.S. Census Bureau (2012 ed.); also available at Reference Desk HA202

Contains contains several educational surveys conducted by the National Center for Education Statistics and options for selecting a population, relevant variables, and export into several statistical software packages

An NCES web application that allows users to quickly view public and private school data and create custom tables and charts using data from the Common Core of Data (CCD) and Private School Survey (PSS)

Data on educational attainment, school enrollment, school costs, and more collected in the Decennial Census and American Community Survey

Over 100 datasets collected by governments and academic researchers, curated by ICPSR. Search on the variable level for many studies.

Free, downloadable shapefiles and KMLs created from the Atlas of Historical County Boundaries by the Newberry Library.

The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.

Online mapping tool for U.S. Census data