Research Guides: GIS and Data Resources: Data Portals

Data Portals

A data portal enables you to search across data archives, datasets, or publications.

AtoZdatabases (Business & Marketing) This link opens in a new window
Addresses, phone numbers, sales volume, credit rating, SIC codes, and more for U.S. businesses and executives; also includes directory information on U.S. residents

re3data.org (Registry of Research Data Repositories)
A global registry of thousands of research data repositories across institutions and disciplines
DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth)
Connects multiple data repositories to search for multi-scale, multi-discipline, and multi-national science data
Data.gov
Access to many US national datasets
Dryad Digital Repository
A curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources.
Index of data repositories by discipline
Links to data repositories across disciplines. Part of the Simmons College Open Access Directory

GIS Data Portals

ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World
The foremost collection of geographic information from around the globe. It includes maps, apps, and data layers to support your work.
ArcGIS Open Data
Geospatial data archives uploaded by governments, organizations, and researchers. Maintained by Esri.
EarthWorks
Stanford University's discovery portal for geospatial data. Search by map type, place name, or holding institution.
GeoCommons
An open repository of data and maps for the world developed by the public community of GeoIQ users
GeoPlatform.gov
Over 70,000 geospatial datasets from federal and state governments, researchers, and non-profit organizations, hosted by the Federal Geographic Data Committee
Open Data Inception
Developed by OpenDataSoft, this open data portal provides a comprehensive list of open data portals that can be organized by geographic area.
Open Geoportal
A collaboratively developed, open source, federated web application framework to rapidly discover, preview and retrieve geospatial data from multiple repositories.
OpenStreetMap
A free editable map of the whole world that allows users to view, upload, edit, and use geographical data
Texas Department of Transportation Open Data Portal
The TxDOT Open Data Portal is the agency’s platform for exploring and downloading GIS datasets. The portal allows users to view datasets on a map, filter data using queries, and download data in various formats.
UT Austin Texas GeoData Portal
The Texas GeoData Portal provides access to a variety of data types available for download including georeferenced scanned maps from the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection, vector datasets developed from collections in the Alexander Architectural Archives, geospatial data from the Benson Latin American Collection, and more.

Environmental Data Portals

NASA EarthData Portal
Earth observation datasets that made available by NASA and other interagency and international partners
DigitalCoast Data
Imagery, Landcover and elevation datasets for the coastal areas in the United States are made accessible by NOAA through the Data Access Viewer.