The John D. Holt Papers include charters, correspondence, directories, handbooks, manuals, handouts, memorandums, training materials, presentations, photographs, organizational charts, reports, newsletters, budgets, CD discs, promotional materials, and miscellaneous materials, documenting the professional career of John D. Holt at NASA Johnson Space Center (JSC) in coastal Houston, Texas. Holt worked at NASA from 1967 to 2001. Holt worked as a NASA contractor for several aerospace companies after his retirement until 2010. He would serve at JSC as a branch chief of Guidance and Propulsion Systems in the Systems Division of the Mission Operations Directorate (MOD); Branch Chief of Payload and Operations Support Branch; Chief of the Production Integration Management Office; and a series of management positions for the Space Shuttle Program.
The Paul F. Horsman Papers is composed of meeting notes, notebooks, calendars, memos, engineering drawings, engineering calculations and notes, research information, memos, design plans, planning records, Space Shuttle crew compartment configuration drawing booklets, published reports, booklets, published presentations, published conference proceedings, contractor reports and manuals, NASA publications, NASA handbooks and manuals, NASA strategic plans, telephone directories, photographs, and miscellaneous materials, created and used by NASA Johnson Space Center engineer Paul F. Horsman. Horsman worked for NASA as one of the original 40 engineers and scientists with NASA’s Space Force Task Force in Langley, Virginia. He worked from 1962 to 1997 at NASA Johnson Space Center Houston, Texas.
Horsman worked in various divisions and offices at NASA for the Mercury and Apollo programs from 1959 to the early 1970s, before turning to work on Space Shuttle orbiter engineering work. The main two departments in which he worked were the Electro-mechanical Systems Section of the Guidance and Control Division of the Engineering Directorate, and Space Shuttle Integration and Operations Office. Some of the most unique materials in the collection include Horsman’s personal meeting and engineering notebooks; orbiter crew compartment configuration drawings; design records and research on addressing addressed the issues of stabilization of magnetic torquers, which were used on the Apollo missions and in early design work for the Space Shuttle; and Horsman’s engineering drawings of the Mercury capsule design, and the designs for the Mercury flight simulator created between September 1959 and April 1960.
The Donald J. Incerto Papers is composed of training manuals, handbooks, workbooks, guides, correspondence, reports, binders, presentations, handwritten scientific calculations and notes, notes, documents, and miscellaneous materials, created, used, and/or kept by Donald J. Incerto while he worked at NASA Johnson Space Center between 1962 and 1987. Incerto would work in a variety of positions from the Apollo Program through the planning for the Space Station. The majority of the collection is composed of Incerto’s manuals, information and document binders, training materials, and planning documents for the development of the Space Shuttle Program in the late 1970s to early 1980s, and the planning of the Space Shuttle in 1986 and 1987. There are also a number of NASA contractor materials for programs from Apollo through the Space Shuttle.
The materials for the planning of the Space Station are the most original items in the collection, as these items laid the groundwork for the United States’ eventual development of the International Space Station. Perhaps the most unique item in the collection is an original Apollo–Soyuz Test Project (ASTP) photo-map book, produced and used at NASA Johnson Space Center Flight Control (SSR) around 1975. This map book used oversized color satellite photographs of the Earth, which were glued back-to-back to create double-sided photographic map pages of the Earth for use by American and Soviet Union space personnel during the operations of the ASTP project.
The Francis Johnson Jr. Papers is composed of handwritten scientific and mathematical calculations, handwritten notes, memorandums, technical reports, internal NASA notes, and miscellaneous papers, authored, created, or kept by Francis Johnson Jr. between 1962 and 1970 while working at NASA Manned Spacecraft Center in Houston, Texas. He would work during this period as an aerospace engineer in trajectory analysis in the Mission Analysis Branch (MAB) during the Apollo Program, where he calculated trajectories to and from the Moon for space travel. The collection includes a large number of published internal Manned Spacecraft Center notes authored or co-authored by Johnson, featuring his technical calculations and review of project work for the Apollo Program.
There are original copies of memos written by or to Johnson, mainly dealing with lunar trajectory calculations. There are also Johnson’s handwritten research papers and calculation notes that he originally stored in binders, containing mathematical workings, graphed trajectory calculations, scientific equation workings, and other notes, used to calculate lunar trajectories for the Apollo Program missions. The collection is significant for demonstrating the process by which engineers worked through the problem of space travel and lunar trajectories for spacecraft at NASA during the 1960s.
The Robert M. Kelso Papers is composed of flight manuals, handbooks, checklists, press kits, memorandums, telephone directories, and miscellaneous materials, used and kept by Robert M. Kelso while he worked as flight controller and later lead flight director in Flight Operations in Mission Control Center at NASA Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas. The bulk of the materials are handbooks, flight manuals, and console binders used by Kelso during the first three Space Shuttle Orbiter missions STS-1, STS-2, and STS-3, while working as a flight controller for the Shuttle between 1981 and 1982. There are also operational manuals, binders, and other records from the Space Shuttle missions STS-5, STS-8, STS-12, and STS-13. One of the more unique items in the collection is Kelso’s original National Space Transportation System reference press kit binder from 1988, providing information shared with the public regarding the Space Shuttle STS program.
The William R. Muehlberger Papers comprise reports, correspondence, photographs, geological maps, and itineraries. It was created by William R. Muehlberger, a Geology Professor at the University of Texas at Austin, who NASA selected as the Primary Investigator for the Apollo missions at the Johnson Space Center. The materials in this collection were created and collected by Muehlberger between 1945 and 1996, with a particular focus on his work related to the Apollo 15, 16, and 17 missions. They consist of field notes and other records that are not personal in nature, but rather related to his professional work on these missions.
| Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002 |