Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Space Flight Collection

Information on the Human Space Flight Collection at the UHCL Archives and Special Collections; created by Erin Henry and Matthew M. Peek

HSF Collections, M-Z

  • James E. McCoy Papers
    • Dr. James Ernest McCoy (who went by "Jim") was born on May 4, 1941, to Amy and Ernest McCoy. McCoy went on to attend college at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, California. He would go to work at the new NASA Manned Spacecraft Center campus in Houston, Texas, in 1963. McCoy worked on his PhD in Astrophysics at Rice University while also working at NASA. In his 43 years working at NASA, he worked on virtually every project: Gemini; Apollo, with experiments on Apollo 15 and Apollo 17; the Shuttle program; Space Station; and Variable Specific Impulse Magnetoplasma Rocket (VASIMR), the ion propulsion rocket. Dr. McCoy’s work contributes to the understanding of the Earth’s ionosphere and the Moon’s exosphere. He was an expert in moon dust.
    • In 1971 Dr. McCoy was part of a team investigating the Earth’s electrometric field, the Moon’s movement through plasma, and the Moon’s interaction with plasma.  Dr. McCoy in part sought to explain streamers, thin streaks of light rising from the lunar surface observed by Apollo astronauts during sunrise.  Dr. McCoy also contributed to the field of electrodynamic tethers, innovative ways to provide power and thrust for spacecraft that were both cheaper and more efficient than current contemporary systems. The tethers are thin insulted wires, varying in length, with a plasma motor generator at the ends. McCoy also worked extensively with the European Space Agency on the Tethered Satellite program and flew his Plasma Motor Generator on the Delta 221 launch. In total, McCoy spent 43 years working for NASA. James McCoy died on November 28, 2014.
    • The documents were produced during Dr. James McCoy’s endeavors as a physicists at NASA during his 43-year career at NASA and Johnson Space Center between 1965 and 2004. The bulk of the materials date from 1980 to 1993. The collection contains variety of media including: notes, slides, reports, pictures, negatives, blueprints, notebooks, and journal articles.
  • Harold J. McMann Logbook Collection
    • Harold Joseph McMann Jr. (who went by "Joe") received a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Notre Dame in 1959. He worked as a staff applications engineer at Liquid Carbonic Corporation, a division of General Dynamics, until he joined NASA as an aerospace technologist for the Materials, Life Systems Division, Space Task Group, in 1961. McCann held increasingly responsible positions until he became the manager of the EVA Management Office, EVA and Crew Equipment Office in 1996 at Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas. he was a member of the EVA Hardware Development Group, EVA Project Office, before leaving NASA in 1996. On leaving NASA, McMann took a position as an engineer at the Hamilton Sundstrand Corporation, a position that he held in 2002. McMann received 15 awards for his work, including the MSC Outstanding Performance Award, Project Mercury; the Victor A. Prather Award; and the JSC Group Achievement Award, Manned Maneuvering Unit Thermal/Vacuum Test Support Team, JSC NITROX Development and Support Team for STS-61. This collection contains McMann’s personal copies of logbooks covering four decades that report the activities of the Crew Systems Division at the Lane-Wells Building (MSC Site 4) at Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas.
  • Harold Miller Papers
    • Harold G. Miller joined NASA in September 1959 to develop a training program for Project Mercury support staff. He began as section head of the Simulation Design Section at Cape Canaveral, Florida. In 1962, he moved to the NASA Manned Spacecraft Center facilities in Houston, Texas. His responsibilities expanded to the Gemini and Apollo programs. Miller managed the Flight Control Division before he left NASA in 1970. He returned to NASA in 1983 to help establish a Space Station program in the Station Development. Miller eventually returned to NASA headquarters in the Office of Manned Space Flight and tracked space shuttle performance in the Chief Engineer’s office. This collection contains congressional reports, NASA reports, National Geographic Magazine reprints, newspaper articles, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics reprints, NASA program description documents, and NASA description documents, scattered in dates from 1959 to 1987. 
  • Lisa Leonard Moore Papers
    • Lisa Leonard Moore spent 35 years working with various programs at the NASA Johnson Space Center, NASA Goddard Spaceflight Center, and NASA Headquarters both as a civil servant and a contractor until her retirement in May 2021. She served as a Senior Systems Engineering Manager. While working at Johnson Space Center from 1988 to 2005, she served as a Senior Systems Engineer/Manager. During this period, she held various titles, including: Project Engineer, Subsystem Manager, Mission Evaluation Room Manager, Space Shuttle Independent Assessment Manager, Orbital Space Plane Requirements Manager, and Chief Engineer—Agency Earned Value Management Project. This collection is composed of original notebooks and logbooks that Lisa Leonard Moore kept while working at NASA Johnson Space Center as a Subsystem Manager on KU-Band radar & communications system of the Space Shuttle Orbiter in the 1980s and 1990s.
  • NASA Apollo Press Releases
    • The NASA Apollo Press Releases is composed of original press releases, press kits, flight plans, NASA crew photographs, brochures, scientific reports, press conference records, newspaper clippings and articles, and miscellaneous materials, for every NASA Apollo Program mission from Apollo 7 through Apollo 17. The materials largely are original period copies distributed by NASA and Johnson Space Center.
    • The most significant and largest part of the collection are the original Apollo mission press releases, including hour-by-hour and day-by-day releases providing constant updates on the progress of the missions. This is the most complete collection of press information for the Apollo Program missions outside of the originals housed at the National Archives and Records Administration. This collection also includes brochures and other officially released materials from NASA, such as original public flight plans, transcripts of post-Apollo flight press conferences, and moon rock specimen testing results.
  • Samuel H. Nassiff Papers
    • Samuel Nassiff joined the NASA Manned Spacecraft Center in Houston, Texas, in 1963. There, he worked in the Simulation Branch, Flight Crew Operations Directorate, where he developed a Gemini reentry simulator with six-degrees-of-freedom and trained the first two classes of astronauts. In 1964, he was named Head of the Simulation Dynamics Section. Nassif continued in the Simulation Requirements and Design office through 1973. Between 1974-1975, Sam worked in the Spacecraft Design Division of the Payload Integration Office determining requirements and conducting studies for the design of the Shuttle aft crew station.
    • In 1975 he moved into the Engineering & Development Directorate, Systems Design Office as a Technical Manager developing a Manned Remote Work Station (MRWS) and Open Cherry Picker Development Test Article. In 1979 he moved to the Program Development Office, also in the Engineering & Development Directorate. From 1982-1985 he worked in the Systems Engineering Division as Technical Manager for the Space Station. From 1985-1987 he worked as Technical Assistant to the Manager of the International and External Affairs Office in the Space Station Program Office, where they formulated plans and schedules relative to international projects for implementation in the Space Station Program.
    • Samuel Nassiff retired from NASA Johnson Space Center in 1987. He went on to work for Eagle Engineering, Inc., where he participated in the preparation of the MDAC proposal for the Space Station Program in the area of SE&I; managed a study for an international space contractor to develop requirements and designs for an Astronaut Training Facility; and designed an Earth Orbiting Transportation Node for a NASA contracted study in the area of advanced space craft design.
    • This collection represents the material Samuel Nassiff gathered for his personal files outside of his work papers, which were donated to the official NASA Johnson Space Center History Collection. The collection includes his work with Eagle Engineering, Inc. as an associate responsible for a NASDA Crew Training Facility Study, and a Systems Engineering and Integration proposal for MDAC. Papers also reflect his employment with General Dynamics (Convair) in Fort Worth, Texas, from 1956-1963. The remainder are personal papers including his personnel file, resumes, a biographical letter, personal correspondence, and other historical information he collected during his employment at NASA Johnson Space Center.
  • Shelby Owens Papers
    • Shelby Lee Owens III was born in Baton Rouge, Louisiana on October 23, 1935. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in mechanical engineering from Louisiana State University in 1958 and worked as an engineer for Boeing Airplane Company, Hayes Aircraft Company, Dow Chemical Company, and Foxboro Instrument Company. Owens would then join the NASA Manned Spacecraft Center in Houston, Texas, in June 1963. Owens held progressively more responsible positions at the Johnson Space Center, where he worked on the Apollo, Skylab, and Space Shuttle programs. Owens worked as an Aerospace Engineer and Manager of Manned Space Flight Programs, from where he retired after 27 years of service. He received numerous awards for his contributions to the Space Program including the ASME George Westinghouse Silver Medal and NASA Exceptional Service Medal. After retiring from NASA in 1990, Shelby continued to support Space Exploration in various positions with Hernandez Engineering and Barrios Technologies for 10 years. Shelby Owens passed away on August 16, 2016, in Kingwood, Texas. This collection covers Shelby Owens’s career from 1964 to 1990 and includes correspondence, documents, awards, and ephemera.
  • Robert F. Pannett Papers
    • This collection represents the material Robert F. Pannett gathered while employed with McDonnell Aircraft Corporation in St. Louis, Missouri, from the 1950s through around the late 1960s. Pannett served as Spacecraft Manager for Gemini Spacecraft No. 4. He also worked from 1965-1969 on the Gemini B project, a U.S. Air Force project to use the Gemini design for high-altitude ground observation. While the basic design remained the same, the purpose and equipment used for monitoring was unique to the Gemini B, though in the end it was never launched.
    • This collection includes a paper he co-authored for the AIAA Third Manned Space Flight Meeting. Various reports document additional projects he appears to have worked on for the McDonnell Aircraft Corporation. The Project Gemini series focuses on Spacecraft No. 4, used in the Gemini IV June 1965 launch crewed by Edward H. White and James McDivitt. Pannett saved numerous photographs of various projects including the Alpha Draco 122B missile, Gemini, and the Mercury Trainer. The Alpha Draco photos are a mixture of U.S. Air Force photographs and McDonnell Aircraft Corporation, but the others are largely identified as taken by McDonnell Aircraft Corporation.
  • Donald Puddy Papers
    • Donald R. Puddy was born in Oklahoma on May 31, 1937. Puddy’s career with NASA began at the Manned Spacecraft Center, now known as Johnson Space Center (JSC) in 1964 during the Apollo years. As an engineer on the Apollo 13 flight in 1970, he proposed the solution of using the lunar module, Aquarius, as a lifeboat that saved the lives of the three Apollo 13 astronauts. As a result, Donald Puddy’s career with NASA began to blossom as he was promoted in 1972 to Flight Director, where he commanded NASA’s final mission to the moon, Apollo 17 and the missions to the United States’ first space station, Skylab.
    • Most importantly, Donald Puddy presided over the NASA program during the crucial Cold War period known as détente. The relaxation of tensions between the U.S. and the Soviet Union was personified by joint mission programs such as the Apollo-Soyuz Test Project in 1975 and Shuttle Transportation System (STS) missions to the Russian Space Station Mir in the late 1980s as the first phase of establishing an International Space Station (ISS), which was completed in the late 1990s. Throughout his lengthy career with NASA, Donald Puddy won numerous awards including the Presidential Medal of Freedom for his efforts on the Apollo 13 rescue, the NASA Outstanding Leadership Medal and was inducted into the Oklahoma Aviation and Space Hall of Fame in 2002. Donald Puddy passed away on November 22, 2004 in Houston, Texas.
    • This collection contains the work papers of Donald R. Puddy, Johnson Space Center (JSC) engineer, flight director and manager from 1964 until 2004. Content includes documentation from Apollo, Skylab, Apollo Soyuz Test Project (ASTP), Approach and Landing Test (ALT), Shuttle Transportation System (STS), the Shuttle-Mir Program and JSC operating papers.
  • Leo Reitan Papers (in-process, with basic inventory available)
  • Scientist in Residence Program Records
    • Dr. Ronald Pastrana, retired NASA scientist, first initiated the Scientist in Residence Program at Mill Road Intermediate School in 2006 as a two-day enrichment program for fourth graders. In 2008, Dr. Pastrana moved the program to first and fourth graders at Chancellor Livingston Elementary School in Rhinebeck, New York, where it subsequently grew into an all-grades week-long event augmenting their standard science curriculum. The program provides students with background information and hands-on experiences to discuss lunar geology, Earth and Life Sciences, as well as other topics related to the U.S. Space Program. The impact of the program on the student’s interests may be clearly seen through the many samples of student essay letters, images, and research papers submitted by following the program.
    • When this program began at Livingston Chancellor Elementary School in 2008, Dr. Ron Pastrana donated various examples of student artwork and essay letters for the UHCL Archives. These items were housed in the UHCL Archives Vertical File under the term “Scientist in Residence Program (Rhinebeck, NY)” by the year. Dr. Pastrana annually contributed student research essays, images, artwork, thank you letters, and program overview. These items were formally processed out of the Vertical File and into the Scientist in Residence Program Records after the 2011 donation and also includes addenda up to 2013.
  • Carl Scott Papers
    • Carl Douglas Scott received his B.A. degree in physics from Rice University in Houston, Texas, and his Ph.D. in physics from the University of Texas at Austin. He joined NASA’s Manned Spacecraft Center (MSC) in Houston in 1963 after he completed service in the U.S. Navy. During his career at NASA in Houston, Scott worked in the areas of arc jet flow diagnostics; aerothermodynamics; surface catalytic effects on entry heating; and on production, diagnostics, and modeling of single wall carbon nanotubes. He was a lecturer for a number of short courses on hypersonics and flow diagnostics in the U.S. and Europe. He served as co-chair of several workshops hosted by NASA, Rice University, and the Air Force on growth mechanisms of single-wall carbon nanotubes. Scott’s specialty areas of research included: hypersonic aerothermodyanmics; high enthalpy flow diagnostics; chemical reaction modeling of carbon nanotube production, hydrogen microwave plasmas, and arc jet flow; technical report writing; plasma spectroscopy. Carl Scott retired from NASA Johnson Space Center in December 2005. Since retirement, he has continued to support NASA as a consultant with Jacobs Technology, who is a contractor for NASA Johnson Space Center. This collection consists of technical experiment data, notes and calculations, presentations, correspondence, and personal data, created and used by Dr. Carl Scott throughout his time working at NASA Johnson Space Center.
  • Space Exploration Clippings Collection
    • Jeanette Getz is a local mother and grandmother in the Houston, Texas, area who has long held an interest in space exploration. For many years, Getz clipped articles out of newspapers and magazines for her grandchildren, but decided they would make a nice research collection to give to an archives. The collection consists of various clippings of NASA space program articles from numerous newspapers and magazines. The original clippings were photocopied onto acid-free paper and housed in alphabetical order according to their primary topic. The articles include the Gemini, Apollo, and Space Shuttle missions, ranging from 1965 to 2007, with an emphasis on the period 1981-2007.
  • Hyman A. Steinberg Collection
    • Hyman Abraham Steinberg (who went by “Hy”) was born in New York City to a Jewish family on December 15, 1925. He served in the U.S. Navy during World War II from 1944-1946 as a Radioman 2nd Class at the U.S. Naval Mine Depot in Yorktown, Virginia. He received a Bachelor of Art and Bachelor of Architectural Engineering from Oklahoma State University in 1950 and 1951, respectively. In 1951, Steinberg worked as the junior architect for the New York City Public Works Department. Then, Steinberg worked at New York University’s Research Division as an engineering scientist from 1951-1955, where he co-developed the first engineered solar oven.

    • He next worked as an Assistant Professor of Architecture at the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana, from 1955-1958. From 1958-1960, Steinberg worked as the Public Relations Account Executive for Basford Inc. in New York City. At the same time, he served as an industrial engineering consultant between 1958-1959 with Carmer Industries in New Jersey. He worked from 1960-1963 as the editor of Family Handyman Magazine in New York City; then followed this as an building consultant editor American Home Magazine.

    • Steinberg worked from 1967 to 1971 as an engineering specialist for Catalytic-Dow, Saturn 5 systems at NASA Kennedy Space Center in Florida. He also worked on the Apollo 8 program. From 1955 to 1980, Steinberg received 14 U.S Patents for Solar-Thermal energy conversion. In his career, he received 20 patents for his own inventions. Some of his best-known inventions today are the solar energy grill, inner channel hearing aid, and rotary electric shaver. Steinberg then worked as a real estate investor, architectural consultant, artist, and inventor until his death on February 12, 2016.

    • This collection contains writings, invention materials, photographs, and publications related to the life and career of Hyman A. Steinberg’s career at NASA that impacted human space flight. Most of the materials date from 1967 to 1973, though there are materials from Steinberg’s later independent consultancy with NASA while not a full-time employee.

  • Teacher in Space Program Records
    • The Teacher in Space Program Records is composed of correspondence, presentations, press releases, educational records, media plans, guides, photographs, and miscellaneous materials, documenting NASA’s Teacher in Space Project (TISP) program from 1984 to 2005. The collection appears to have been the personal collection of an unidentified individual connected with NASA and/or Johnson Space Center, transferred to the University of Houston-Clear Lake Archives and Special Collections by the Johnson Space Center History Office.

  • Joseph Thibodeaux Papers
    • Joseph G. Thibodaux Jr. (who goes by “Guy”) began his professional career in 1946 as an Aeronautical Research Scientist in the Pilotless Aircraft Research Division for the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics in Newport News, Virginia. In 1964, Thibodaux and his family moved to Houston, Texas, where he assumed the role of Chief of the Propulsion and Power Division at the newly-constructed NASA Manned Spacecraft Center (later Johnson Space Center) until his retirement in 1980. Thibodaux holds five patents on solid rockets and solid rocket manufacturing techniques. He specialized in the fields of vehicle propulsion, liquid rockets, thermal protection, high temperature materials, meteoroid and impact phenomena, thermal arc technology, flight test technology, and pyrotechnics during his career.

    • The Joseph G. Thibodaux Papers contains five boxes of materials pertaining to the work of Joseph “Guy” Thibodaux Jr. from the period of 1915 to 2008. The collection includes newspaper articles, journal articles, photographs, memoranda, telegrams, artwork, scrapbooks, and other materials, from his personal and professional career. There are also family records and information for the Thibodaux family in the collection. Very little of his personal materials from his time working at NASA are included in the collection, apart from photographs and his retirement materials.

  • John Trebes Papers

    • John M. Trebes was born on July 1, 1932, in New London, Connecticut. He worked as an aerospace engineer at NASA for 30 years. He was Space Station mockup manager for the Man-Systems Division at NASA Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas, around 1986. He also served as the preflight adaptation trainer (PAT) at Johnson Space Center. Trebes was chairman of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics from 1990 to 1991. John Trebes died on July 25, 2002. John Trebes married Alyce E. Dillinger, who worked for Lockheed Electronics Company during the Apollo Program. In 1962, she worked for NASA’s Preflight Operations Division at the Manned Spacecraft Center in Houston. In 1963, she worked for the organization’s Flight Operations Division. Dillinger was born on September 25, 1930. Alyce Dillinger Trebes died on October 30, 2012.     

    • The collection contains materials spanning across the NASA careers of husband and wife John Trebes’ and Alyce Dillinger Trebes. It includes information on the Preflight Adaptation Trainer (PAT), Apollo Earth Landing System, Apollo Program training, Space Shuttle program, Life Sciences Directorate, and NASA-related photographs.

  • Chester Vaughan Papers
    • Chester A. Vaughan (who goes by “Chet”) graduated from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in 1959 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering. In 1955, he joined NASA at the Langley Research Center at Langley Field, Virginia. Vaughan worked in the Cooperative Education Program and the Space Vehicle Group, Applied Materials and Physics, until 1961. Then, Vaughn joined the new NASA Manned Spacecraft Center (later Johnson Space Center) in Houston, Texas. For a number of years, he worked as a senior engineer. Vaugn served as the deputy director of engineering at Johnson Space Center from October 1993 to January 1995. From December 1991 to October 1993, he served as the chief of the Propulsion and Power Division at JSC; and from January to December 1991, he served as the chief engineer in the Office of Space Flight at NASA Headquarters, Washington, DC. Vaughn was named to the newly created post of chief engineer for the International Space Station Program at JSC in January 1995. Vaughan retired in 1996 from NASA as Chief Engineer, Space Station Program. Around 2013, Vaughan worked as a consultant for Boeing on the International Space Station.
    • This collection is composed of technical reports, presentations, white papers, summaries, analyses, and correspondence regarding Dr. Chester A. Vaughan’s work at NASA from 1974 to 1994.

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002