Ebook Help: Downloading Ebooks From Library Databases: Project Gutenberg

gutenberg-top

From Project Gutenberg, you can download to computer or save to cloud (Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive)

proj gutenberg

Dropbox

Dropbox is a service that helps you keep files synchronized on your PC and your mobile devices.

The ebook is sent to the Apps/gutenberg folder in your Dropbox folder. It will then be copied to all your devices on which you have installed the Dropbox client software.

Google Drive

Google Drive is a file hosting service.

The ebook is uploaded to your Google Drive. You can then download it from anywhere you have an internet connection.

OneDrive

OneDrive is a file hosting service by Microsoft.

The ebook is uploaded to your OneDrive. You can then download it from anywhere you have an internet connection.

AVI

AVI files can contain both audio and video. They can generally be played with media players such as Windows Media Player, WinAmp, or Mplayer. See wikipedia for more information.

EPS

Short for "Encapsulated PostScript", it can generally be viewed with any PostScript viewer. A free PostScript viewer is available. See wikipedia for more information.

EPUB

EPUB (electronic publication) is an e-book standard, by the International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF). EPUB files have the extension .epub. See also the wikipedia article about EPUB.

Currently the format can be read directly by many reader programs including:

If the ebook contains images, we offer two versions: one with and one without images.

Project Gutenberg EPUB files are free from DRM (Digital Restrictions Management).

We automatically generate the EPUB files from the HTML file if there is one, else from the Plain Text file. If the source file is a Plain Text file, the program must guess at the structure of the text. Thus EPUB files may contain formatting errors like verse lines run together or paragraphs wrongfully marked as headers etc. Most of them are good enough for reading though.

GIF

An image format generally viewable by any web browser. See wikipedia for more information.

HTML & Generated HTML

HTML is the standard format of the WWW. Use any web browser to display this file format. Generated HTML was computer-generated because we don't have a hand-crafted HTML version of this ebook. It may contain formatting errors.

ISO

A logical copy of a CD-ROM or other optical media. Most CD/DVD authoring utilities can deal with ISO images. A free tool for mounting these images on a Windows machine as though they were inserted into a CD-ROM drive is available. A tool for burning ISOs to a physical CD-R or CD-RW on Windows is available.

Plain Text UTF-8

A text file formatted with a fixed line length. Can be viewed in any browser or with an editor like Windows Notepad. For best results set a monospaced font like Courier.

Every ebook is available in plain text format with very few exceptions. Exceptions are made for mathematical texts where a representation of formulas is impossible in plain text.

Plucker

Get the plucker viewer

This is free software that runs on Microsoft Windows, Linux, Mac OS X, Palm handheld devices, Windows Mobile devices and handheld devices powered by Linux. A plucker ebook is generated from the HTML file if there is one, else from the Plain Text file. If the source file is a Plain Text file, the program must guess at the structure of the text. Thus plucker files may contain formatting errors like verse lines run together or paragraphs wrongfully marked as headers etc. They are good enough for reading though. They do not contain images.

Do not download:

CSS (Cascading Style Sheets) are generally used to make HTML pages look nice, and are not intended for direct viewing. Your web browser will find these files as referenced by the HTML files that use them. See wikipedia for more information.

EPUB

EPUB (electronic publication) is an e-book standard, by the International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF). EPUB files have the extension .epub. See also the wikipedia article about EPUB.

Currently the format can be read directly by many reader programs including:

The format can be read by the Kobo eReader, BlackBerry devices, Apple's iBooks app running on iOS devices, Google Books app running on Android and iOS devices, Barnes & Noble Nook, Amazon Kindle,[1] Sony Reader, BeBook, Bookeen Cybook Gen3 (with firmware v2 and up), COOL-ER, Adobe Digital Editions, Lexcycle Stanza, BookGlutton, AZARDI, FBReader, Aldiko, CoolReader, Mantano Reader, Moon+ Reader, the Mozilla Firefox add-on EPUBReader, Okular and other reading apps.

If the ebook contains images, we offer two versions: one with and one without images.

Project Gutenberg EPUB files are free from DRM (Digital Restrictions Management).

We automatically generate the EPUB files from the HTML file if there is one, else from the Plain Text file. If the source file is a Plain Text file, the program must guess at the structure of the text. Thus EPUB files may contain formatting errors like verse lines run together or paragraphs wrongfully marked as headers etc. Most of them are good enough for reading though.

 

Kindle

Kindle is the format used by the Amazon Kindle series of mobile ebook readers. There is also no-cost proprietary Kindle software available for BlackBerry, iOS, PalmOS, Symbian, Windows and Windows Mobile.

If the ebook contains images, we offer two versions: one with and one without images.

 

Plucker

You can read plucker files on your Palm™ organizer or smartphone. Plucker is Free Software. Get the plucker viewer.

Plucker runs on Microsoft Windows, Linux, Mac OS X, Palm handheld devices, Windows Mobile devices and handheld devices powered by Linux.

A plucker ebook is generated from the HTML file if there is one, else from the Plain Text file. If the source file is a Plain Text file, the program must guess at the structure of the text. Thus plucker files may contain formatting errors like verse lines run together or paragraphs wrongfully marked as headers etc. They are good enough for reading though.

Our plucker ebooks do not contain images.

You can download this format from the mobile site.

You may also install the plucker distiller software and generate plucker ebooks yourself. This gives you control over more options, like including images, etc.

Kindle

Kindle is the format used by the Amazon Kindle series of mobile ebook readers. There is also no-cost proprietary Kindle software available for BlackBerry, iOS, PalmOS, Symbian, Windows and Windows Mobile.

If the ebook contains images, we offer two versions: one with and one without images.

 

EPUB

EPUB (electronic publication) is an e-book standard, by the International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF). EPUB files have the extension .epub. See also the wikipedia article about EPUB.

Currently the format can be read directly by many reader programs including:

The format can be read by the Kobo eReader, BlackBerry devices, Apple's iBooks app running on iOS devices, Google Books app running on Android and iOS devices, Barnes & Noble Nook, Amazon Kindle,[1] Sony Reader, BeBook, Bookeen Cybook Gen3 (with firmware v2 and up), COOL-ER, Adobe Digital Editions, Lexcycle Stanza, BookGlutton, AZARDI, FBReader, Aldiko, CoolReader, Mantano Reader, Moon+ Reader, the Mozilla Firefox add-on EPUBReader, Okular and other reading apps.

If the ebook contains images, we offer two versions: one with and one without images.

Project Gutenberg EPUB files are free from DRM (Digital Restrictions Management).

We automatically generate the EPUB files from the HTML file if there is one, else from the Plain Text file. If the source file is a Plain Text file, the program must guess at the structure of the text. Thus EPUB files may contain formatting errors like verse lines run together or paragraphs wrongfully marked as headers etc. Most of them are good enough for reading though.

EPUB

EPUB (electronic publication) is an e-book standard, by the International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF). EPUB files have the extension .epub. See also the wikipedia article about EPUB.

Currently the format can be read directly by many reader programs including:

If the ebook contains images, we offer two versions: one with and one without images.

Project Gutenberg EPUB files are free from DRM (Digital Restrictions Management).

We automatically generate the EPUB files from the HTML file if there is one, else from the Plain Text file. If the source file is a Plain Text file, the program must guess at the structure of the text. Thus EPUB files may contain formatting errors like verse lines run together or paragraphs wrongfully marked as headers etc. Most of them are good enough for reading though.

QiOO Mobile

QiOO Mobile eBook is a proprietary format which is viewable on older mobile phones (Java required). For more information, to ask questions, or to report problems, please visit Project Gutenberg's partner for this format at www.qioo.de.

These QiOO Mobile eBook files do not contain images or hyperlinks - they are text only.

You can download this format from the mobile site.

Use QiOO's QiC and create your own mobile books or simply browse to Gutenberg.org and download your favourite ebooks from the steady growing Gutenberg collection. The resulting book is in the JAR format which is commonly available on every JAVA-enabled cell phone world wide. To transfer the JAR book to your mobile phone use a data cable, Bluetooth or Infrared. Consult your phone manual for more information. Make sure your phone has enough memory for your book. Text files below 64 Kilobyte should run even on the oldest phone - only make sure your phone supports at least MIDP 2.0. Please note: Some phones only allow OTA-installation (e.g. Samsung). In this case you must upload your JAR book to a server and then download it from your phone's browser. In rare cases an additional JAD-file is required for installation, which is actually a simple text file that points to the JAR-file. Google for "Jad Generator" and you will find multiple solutions. I

Loading ...
Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002