Ebook Help: Downloading Ebooks From Library Databases: Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost)

ebsco top

In Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost), you can:

  • Check out and download ebooks to your personal computer for reading offline during the checkout period (7 days or fewer)
  • Transfer ebooks to compatible portable devices. All devices that support the Adobe Content Server are compatible although some work better than others with Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Note:   Download ebooks to your personal computer only. Do not download them to a public computer in your library.
Some ebook titles (in older ebook formats) are not downloadable.

Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Make an Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost) account:

  1. Go to Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost) from the library's Databases A-Z list. This links your account with the Neumann Library subscription.
  2. Click Sign in at the top right of the page
  3. Click Create a new Account
  4. Fill in the form
    • Username and password can be any combination of letters, numbers and standard punctuation
    • Usernames are not case sensitive
    • Passwords must be at least six (6) characters long and cannot match your username
    • All usernames and passwords must be unique
    • Usernames and passwords should not be shared with others. The creator of the account is ultimately responsible for the activity on that account.
    • Record the email address and answer to the Security Question you use for your account. You will need this information if you forget your username and/or password.
  5. Click Save Changes.

You see a message confirming the account creation displays.
You return to your affiliated library home page or to the page where you were prompted to login.

Adobe Digital Editions (ADE)

Download and install Adobe Digital Editions

If you have problems with the installation, see Adobe Digital Editions installation help.

  • You must have an Adobe ID to authorize your computer. You are prompted to get one at no charge during the installation.
  • If you will transfer to a portable device, both your device and computer must be authorized with the same Adobe ID.

Authorize your computer for ADE:

  1. Open Adobe Digital Editions.
  2. Click on the Library button (looks like 3 books at the left of the screen).
  3. Click on the down arrow next to the word LIBRARY.
  4. Click on Authorize Computer.

Check out and download an ebook to your computer:

  1. Search for the ebook that you want to download
  2. Click the Download (offline) link for the title. If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you are prompted to do so.
  3. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.
    • For some titles, you may see the option to select either the PDF or ePub format for an eBook.
    • The eBook is added to the Checkout area of the folder, accessible from the upper-right corner of the EBSCOhost interface.
  4. Select to Open or Save the file from the resulting dialog box.
    • If you Open the file, your eBook is opened with Adobe® Digital Editions.
    • If you Save the file, the eBook is saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe® Digital Editions at a later time.
  5. When a downloaded eBook is opened, it is displayed in Adobe® Digital Editions.

Notes:

  • If when trying to download an eBook to Digital Editions you receive the following error message: E_AUTH_BAD_DEVICE_KEY_OR_PKCS12

    You may need to completely remove any authorization using ctrl-shift-D to Adobe Digital Editions (cmd-shift-D if on Mac). Then restart Digital Editions, and reauthorize with your Adobe ID.

  • When downloading an eBook using the Chrome browser, the download appears in the download bar at the bottom of the browser as URLLink.acsm.

  1. Click the download in the bar
  2. Select Open to open the eBook
    OR
  3. Select Always open files of this type to automatically open future EBSCO eBooks downloads in ADE

After you download an ebook to your computer, you can transfer it to a compatible portable device.

  1. Go to http://blogs.adobe.com/digitalpublishing/supported-devices to verify that Adobe Digital Editions supports your device. Only physical eReader devices can sync with Adobe Digital Editions. If you are using an eReading application (iOS or Android), contact the publisher of that application for assistance.
  2. Connect your device via USB to your Windows or Macintosh computer.  Do this step before opening Adobe Digital Editions. Otherwise, the application can't see it.
  3. Launch Adobe Digital Editions.
  4. Your device appears on the left side in Adobe Digital Editions.



  5. Drag the eBook that you want to transfer to the picture of your device on the left.

The eBook is now transferred to your eReader/eBook device.

Browsers:

See also: Why is a new PDF opened each time I turn the page of an EBSCO eBook?

Screen Resolution:

The recommended screen resolution for EBSCOhost databases is 1024 x 768.

Notes for Windows:

  • Internet Explorer users should turn off Compatibility View by clicking the button next to the web address bar in their browser. Compatibility View may cause some areas of EBSCO interfaces to not display correctly.

  • Adobe Flash Player 10.0 or later is required to use Text-To-Speech on interfaces in which it is available.

  • Windows 8/8.1 users should use the desktop version of Internet Explorer to view PDFs in the Viewer. The Metro version of Internet Explorer does not support Adobe Reader plug-ins that allow viewing of PDFs.

Notes for Mac:

  • Mac users trying to open PDF files using the Safari 5.1 browser must install the Schubert-It PDF plug-in to view PDFs at this time.

When you check out and download an eBook, a File Download box may pop up with this message:
"Do you want to save this file, or find a program online to open it?
Name: ebx.etd
Type: Unknown file Type, nnnn bytes”

If you receive the message:

  1. Click the Cancel button to close the File Download box
  2. Install Adobe Digital Editions. (See Before you download above.)
  3. Try to check out and download the eBook again
  4. Tutorial: http://support.epnet.com/downloads/resources/NL_download_eBook_to_portable_device.ppt

Error in HttpHandler" message
If you receive an "Error in HttpHandler" message when trying to access an eBook:

  1. Clear cookies and cache from your computer
  2. Restart your browser and try to access the title again

If you are using IE 8 :

  1. In the Tools menu, go to Internet Options
  2. Under the General tab, in the Browsing History section
  3. Make sure that Temporary internet files, cookies, and history are checked
  4. Click the Delete button

If you are using Firefox:

  1. Clear Recent History
    1. Click on the Firefox button at the top left
    2. Open the History menu by mousing over History
    3. Click on Clear Recent History
  2. Click the arrow button next to Details
  3. Make sure that Browsing & Download history, cookies, and cache are checked
  4. Set the time range to Everything
  5. Click the Clear Now button

Access EBSCOhost from your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) and Android devices. 

After downloading the EBSCOhost app, it must be authenticated from within an EBSCOhost profile.

To authenticate the EBSCOhost app:

  1. Click the EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of the page and enter your email address.

    An email with an authentication key is sent to you.

  2. Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application.

    You have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.

Notes:

  • Once it is authenticated, the app can be used for nine months, after which you must send yourself a new authentication key from the EBSCOhost interface.

  • The app is authenticated to the profile from which you emailed yourself the authentication key. To access a different profile from the app, click the EBSCOhost iPhone and Andoid Applications link from within the new profile and complete the authentication steps.


Bluefire Reader:

Using Library Books in Bluefire Reader
How to download ebooks directly into Bluefire, or using iTunes, email, and more.

Note: You will also need Adobe Digital Editions on your PC or MAC.

Loading ...

image

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002