Modern Language Association (MLA) Handbook & MLA Style Manual and Guide
MLA Handbook9th ed., Circulation-Reserve, Research Desk, and Pearland Service Desk LB2369 .G53 2016
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing3rd ed.; intended for graduate students, scholars, and faculty; Research Desk and Pearland Service Desk PN147 .G444 2008
MLA Guidelines - 9th Edition : QuickStudy Digital Style Reference and Study Guide.A digital quick reference guide to the essential elements of the 9th edition of the Modern Language Association's rules of punctuation, reference citation, structure and format.
Resources on MLA Style
The following may be of help, but always verify with the latest edition of the official style manual.
- MLA Style CenterThe go-to online information resource for MLA Style.
- MLA Formatting and Style GuideOnline Writing Lab, Purdue Univ.
- NoodleTools ExpressA free online citation builder for APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian styles; requires several preliminary steps to reach citation template
- Citing Government Information Sources Using MLA StyleUniversity of Portland, Clark Library
- EasyBibMLA only (subscription required for APA or Chicago/Turabian)
Citation Management
EndNote citation management software is a great resource to help you save and organize your sources, and also allows you to easily create bibliographies with the Microsoft Word plugin. Students, faculty, and staff who wish to install the program at home can do so from the EndNote Download guide link provided below. The guide includes:
- detailed instructions for Windows, Mac, and iPad
- tutorials and help
- information about free EndNote Web
- and more
For additional training resources, visit the EndNote website.
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, open-source citation management software that uses a web browser extension to save screenshots, full-text PDFs, and citation information from websites, databases, library catalogs, and other search tools with a single click.
With Zotero you can:
- Save citation information, screenshots, and available full-text
- Access your library online and sync to multiple devices
- Use folders and tags to organize your research
- Create group libraries for collaborative projects
- Generate citations and bibliographies in Word, Google Docs, and LibreOffice
Always verify output with the latest edition of official style manuals.
- NoodleBib (now NoodleTools) Express was among the most accurate of free citation builders tested in 2011 by H. F. Chang, Oklahoma State Univ. Library
- Mendeley is a free, downloadable citation management program that offers storage, organizational, and sharing options
- Both support APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian styles
- NoodleTools ExpressRequires several preliminary steps to reach citation template
- MendeleyFrom Elsevier
Do you need to cite a source but lack complete information or aren't sure where you found something? Try searching all you do have (author? title? a source name?) in Google Scholar. If that doesn't help, contact us.
