Skip to Main Content

Psychology

Library resources for research and study in Psychology

APA Handbooks

Below you will find a 3 volume set of APA Handbooks that center around "Research Methods in Psychology." If you need further information or reading material proceed below to the "Additional Research Material" section.

APA handbook of research methods in psychology, Vol 1: Foundations, planning, measures, and psychometrics.
APA handbook of research methods in psychology, Vol 2: Research designs: Quantitative, qualitative, neuropsychological, and biological.
APA handbook of research methods in psychology, Vol 3: Data analysis and research publication.

Additional Research Material

Doing qualitative research in psychology : a practical guide
Measurement in social psychology
Designing and proposing your research project
Doing Research in Counselling and Psychotherapy
APA dictionary of statistics and research methods
Handbook of research methods in social and personality psychology
Research methodologies of school psychology : critical skills
Methodological issues and strategies in clinical research
Research methods in psychology
Secondary data analysis : an introduction for psychologists
Basic research methods an entry to social science research

VandenBos, G. R. (Ed.) (2007). APA dictionary of psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
From pp.762-763:

  • qualitative data:  "data that are not expressed numerically, such as descriptions of behavior and experience. If desired, qualitative data can often be expressed quantitatively..."
  • qualitative evaluation:  "an evaluation method that yields narratives gathered primarily from unstructured methods of data collection, naturalistic observation, and existing records..."
  • quantitative data:  "data expressed numerically, such as test scores or measurements of length or width..."
  • quantitative evaluation:  "an evaluation method that yields numerical indices gathered primarily from formal (objective) methods of data collection, systematic and controlled observation, and a prescribed research design..."
Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002