Research Guides: Legal Studies and Legal Research: Find Statutes & Codes

TX & U.S. Laws (Print)

Vernon's Texas session law service
Reference KFT1225 .A4
Supplements Vernon's Texas Statutes and Codes annotated

Vernon's annotated revised civil statutes of the State of Texas
Reference KFT1238 .A43 V4 Vols. 1-23
Updated with annual pocket parts and supplementary pamphlets

United States Statutes at Large
U.S. Documents AE 2.111:
1968 to present

United States code service (USCS)
Reference KF62 1972 .L38
Updated with supplements, pocket parts, and advance service pamphlets

Code of Federal Regulations
Reference KF70 .A3
Library retains latest year only

Federal and State Laws on WestLaw Campus Research

Westlaw Classic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text statutes, codes, regulations, and case law, plus secondary sources including Black's Law Dictionary, law review journals, and more

West Key Number System
On the main page, click on the Tools tab.

Federal and State Laws on LexisNexis Academic

Click on the links below to search the LexisNexis Academic database for federal and state laws.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text for news sources from around the world, including broadcast transcripts, plus law review journals, statutory, case law, and other legal resources, company and industry information, and more

United States Constitution (Nexis Uni)
United States Code Service (USCS) (Nexis Uni)
Texas Laws, Constitution and Court Rules (Nexis Uni)
Search the Texas Statutes & Codes, Constitution, Court Rules & Advance Legislative Service, Combined.
Landmark U.S. Supreme Court Cases
A subject list of Landmark Cases of the U.S. Supreme Court, with links to the full text of each case.

Texas Laws on the Web

Texas Legislature Online This link opens in a new window
Find information about current bills and legislation.

Texas Constitution and Statutes
The statutes available on this website are current through the 86th Legislature, 2019. The Texas Constitution is current through the amendments approved by voters in November 2019.
Texas Register
A weekly publication that serves as the journal of state agency rulemaking for Texas. Includes proposed, adopted, withdrawn and emergency rule actions, notices of state agency review of agency rules, governor's appointments, attorney general opinions, and miscellaneous documents such as requests for proposals. After adoption, these rulemaking actions are codified into the Texas Administrative Code. Includes January 28, 2000 - current issues.
Texas Administrative Code (Texas Secretary of State)
A compilation of all state agency rules in Texas. Includes information in effect on January 1, 1999 - current.
Texas Statutes and Constitution on Findlaw

U.S. Laws on the Web

Code of Federal Regulations (govinfo.gov)
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
eCFR
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) provides a way of exploring the Code of Federal Regulations as it exists today and at points in time back to January 2017. The eCFR is not an official legal edition of the CFR.
Public & Private Laws
1995-1996 (104th Congress) to present.
United States Code
1994 to present.
The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-one titles.
United States Statutes at Large
2003 (108th Congress) to present.
The United States Statutes at Large containing the permanent laws – public and private – that were enacted during each session of Congress.

Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
U.S. federal legislative information (formerly Thomas.gov)
Federal Register This link opens in a new window
Official public access site for full text of the daily Federal Register