Research Guides: Legal Studies and Legal Research: Find Cases

Westlaw Campus Research

To use the specialized links listed below, open the main Westlaw page first to establish a session.

Westlaw Classic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text statutes, codes, regulations, and case law, plus secondary sources including Black's Law Dictionary, law review journals, and more

West Key Number System
On the main page, click on the Tools tab.

Texas & Federal Cases (Print)

Texas Cases reported in Southwestern reporter, 3rd series
Reference KFT1257 .S68 3d
Advance Sheets, 3rd series
3rd Ser. Vol.1 (2000) to present

Texas Cases reported in Southwestern reporter, 2nd
KFT1257 .S68 2d (General Stacks)
2nd Ser. Vol.1 (1928) - 2nd Ser. Vol.999 (1999)
Alternate title: Texas decisions reported in South western reporter, 2nd series;
Cases argued before the Texas Court of Civil Appeals, the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, and the Texas Commissioners of Appeals

Southwestern reporter. Second series. Cases argued and determined in the courts of Arkansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Tennessee, Texas, with key number annotations
KF135 .S72 (General Stacks)

Texas subsequent history table
Reference KFT1257 .S69 (kept at Circulation Reserves)

Shepard's Texas citations
Reference KFT1259 .S54
Vols.1-15 (2008); updated with cumulative soft-covered issues

Shepard's Texas case names citator: a compilation of case names and citations of Texas cases decided from 1940 to the present
Reference KFT1259 .S48 1991
2nd edition (1991); updated with cumulative supplements

West's Texas digest, 2d
Reference KFT1238 .T42
Vol.1-Vol.69; updated with annual pocket parts

United States Reports: cases adjudicated in the Supreme Court
U.S. Government Documents JU 6.8:
Vol.408 (1971) to present

United States Supreme Court reports. Lawyers' edition
Reference KF101 .L38

Reports of the United States Tax Court
Reference KF6282 .A2 R45
Vol. 22 (1954) to present

The Federal reporter
General Stacks KF105 .F42
Permanent ed., Vols. 1-300, March 1880 - November 1924

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text for news sources from around the world, including broadcast transcripts, plus law review journals, statutory, case law, and other legal resources, company and industry information, and more

U.S. Federal and State Cases
Use filters on the left side of the page to narrow search parameters such as Jurisdiction or Practice Areas and Topics. Enter search terms into the "Search Within Sources" box for further refinement.
U.S. Supreme Court Cases
Full text opinions of all Supreme Court Lawyers' Edition cases since 1790. In addition, all dispositions of cases that were appealed to the Supreme Court are included.
Landmark U.S. Supreme Court Cases
A subject list of Landmark Cases of the U.S. Supreme Court, with links to the full text of each case.
U.S. Court of Appeals Cases, Combined
The combined United States Circuit caselaw file contains all available case law from the
United States Courts of Appeals, First Circuit through Eleventh Circuit;
United States Court of Appeals, District of Columbia Circuit;
United States Court of Appeals, Federal Circuit;
and the United States Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Texas State Cases, Combined
Full-text of Texas caselaw decided by the Texas Supreme Court from 1840, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals from 1879, Texas Court of Civil Appeals and the Texas Court of Appeals from 1892. Also includes unpublished decisions of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals from January 2004.
Texas Court of Criminal Appeals from 1876,
Texas Court of Civil Appeals and the Texas Court of Appeals from 1892.
Also includes unpublished decisions of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals from January 2004.

United States Supreme Court Official Reports

Only the printed versions of the U.S. Supreme Court opinions (slip or bound) are considered official. In case of discrepancies between a bound volume and the materials included on the website--or any other version of the same materials, whether print or electronic, official or unofficial--the printed bound volume controls. In case of discrepancies between the print and electronic versions of a slip opinion, the print version controls. In case of discrepancies between the slip opinion and any later official version of the opinion, the later version controls.

U.S. Supreme Court Slip Opinions
United States Reports Bound Volumes
Vol. 502 (1991) to present