Research Guides: Legal Studies and Legal Research: Legal Reference

Legal Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence 2nd
Online from Westlaw Campus Research
Contains the full text of American Jurisprudence, Second Edition, a comprehensive encyclopedia of American law, both state and federal.
American Law Reports (all series)
Online from Westlaw Campus Research
Full text of annotations included in the First, Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Federal, and Federal Second series of American Law Reports (ALR) and the Index to Annotations covering these series. Updated weekly.
First, Second, Third, and partial Fourth series available in print in General Stacks, KF132.A5 et seq. Partial Federal series, KF105.A54.

Print editions available in the Reference Area:

Texas Jur III (Texas Jurisprudence 3d)
Reference KFT1265 .T49 1979
Vol.1 - Vol.77; accompanied by separately numbered supplementary volumes called Texas Jur. III Topic Service, which contain parallel reference tables to sections of Texas Jurisprudence, 2nd edition, the unreplaced text of Texas Jur. 2nd edition, and, new topics.

Texas Jurisprudence 2d
Reference KFT1265 .T49 1959
Vols. 1-73

Legal Dictionaries

Oran's Dictionary of the Law
Ebook. Also available in print, REF KF156 .O69 2000 (1st level)
FindLaw Legal Dictionary
Nolo.com Dictionary
Definitions for legal terms in plain English

Legal Forms & Practice Guides

Free Legal Forms.net
Contains 1000's of free legal forms covering a wide range of needs. Use the search box to find a specific form.

Legal Research Guides

University of Houston Law Center Legal Research Guides
University of North Texas Libraries Legal Research Guide
Excellent in-depth guide to all aspects of legal research.

Comprehensive Legal Sources

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text for news sources from around the world, including broadcast transcripts, plus law review journals, statutory, case law, and other legal resources, company and industry information, and more
Westlaw Classic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text statutes, codes, regulations, and case law, plus secondary sources including Black's Law Dictionary, law review journals, and more

All Law
Links for sources of federal and state law, lawyers, government sites, law schools, and bar associations.
FindLaw
Comprehensive site organized into categories including legal practice areas, judicial opinions and case law, statutes and laws, state government, and legal associations.
Find Law's Legal Professional Site
This site owned by Thomson Reuters allows you to browse primary and secondary legal authority by jurisdiction or practice area.
HG.org
Comprehensive multi-lingual resource for U.S. and international law; organized into sections for job seekers, law students, businesses, consumers, and practitioners. Also organizes links by over 70 legal practice areas, and provides a Library Center with links for legal news and publications, forms, and legal research tools.
Justia.com
Provides free access to primary legal materials, including case law, codes and regulations, court opinions/orders, and legal articles/blogs, along with additional community resources, such as Find a Lawyer.
Legal Information Institute - Cornell Law School
The Legal Information Institute (LII) is a research and electronic publishing activity of the Cornell Law School. Cornell Law School’s site offers United States Supreme Includes court opinions, the full United States Code, important secondary sources, and a series of “topical” pages that serve as concise explanatory guides for roughly 100 areas of law practice.