Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NASA Johnson Space Center (JSC) History Collection

Information on the JSC History Collection at the UHCL Archives and Special Collections; created by Erin Henry and Matthew M. Peek

Neumann Library Subject Guides

Here are other space history subject guides available from UHCL Neumann Library in our Research Guides collection:

Human Space Flight Collection Subject Guide (UHCL Archives and Special Collections)

Space Studies Subject Guide (UHCL Neumann Library LibGuides)

Astronomy Subject Guide (UHCL Neumann Library LibGuides)

Government Documents and Information Subject Guide (UHCL Neumann Library LibGuides)

General Space Science Databases

Various library databases of articles and reports, as well as technical information, involving human space flight development and history. Many of the library databases are only accessible through a UHCL personnel or student login credentials.

DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center)

  • The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.

Military & Government Collection 

  • Selected full text articles from journals and popular/trade magazines dealing with all branches of the military and government

Military Database

  • Selected full text articles on military topics, government, aeronautics, and more from journals, magazines, newspapers, government reports, and more

National Security Archive

  • A collection of published, declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

NTIS (National Technical Information Service) 

  • Selected full text for federally funded technical reports in science, technology, engineering, and business

SciTech Premium Collection 

  • Selected full text articles on natural science, engineering and technology, from scholarly, trade, and industry journals, technical reports, and proceedings

Helpful NASA History and Resources Links

National Archives and Records Administration at Fort Worth

  • The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. The original NASA Johnson Space Center records are housed at the Fort Worth, Texas, regional NARA facility.

NASA Johnson Space Center History Office (now reorganized without a central office as of 2022)

  • The former NASA Johnson Space Center History Office (and present historians and archivist) supports the Center and the Agency through a number of efforts. Through its Oral History Project, the History Office collects first-hand experiences eliciting details of procedures, processes, methodologies, rationale, and background of operations, design, and development. Since 1997, more than 1195 oral histories have been conducted by the History Office and the finalized transcripts are available on the fully searchable History Portal. This website is updated with new oral history transcripts at least four times a year.
  • Through the JSC History Portal, the History Office provides easy access to searchable electronic files and resources such as the Center's collection of Space News Roundups issues (1961-present); Press Kits (Apollo through Shuttle); NASA Mission Transcripts (Mercury through Apollo Air to Ground transcripts); JSC News Releases from 1961 to present; and more than 300 space-related websites and resources, such as links to NASA imagery and publications. The Portal also provides access to the JSC History Collection History and Archive databases, which is used to search the Johnson Space Center History Collection currently housed at the University of Houston-Clear Lake Archives and Special Collections.

NASA Image and Video Library

  • The NASA Image and Video Library allows users to search, discover and download a treasure trove of more than 140,000 NASA images, videos and audio files from across the agency’s many missions in aeronautics, astrophysics, Earth science, human spaceflight, and more. Users now can embed content in their own sites and choose from multiple resolutions to download. The website also displays the metadata associated with images.
  • Users can browse the agency’s most recently uploaded files, as well as discover historic and the most popularly searched images, audio files and videos. Other features include:
    • Automatically scales the interface for mobile phones and tablets
    • Displays the EXIF/camera data that includes exposure, lens used, and other information, when available from the original image
    • Allows for easy public access to high resolution files
    • All video includes a downloadable caption file

NASA Technical Reports Server 

  • The NASA STI Repository (or NASA Technical Reports Server, NTRS) provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos--scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
  • The STI Repository (NTRS) integrates the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) and NASA collections. The NACA collection includes reports from 1900 to 1958 and the NASA collection includes documents created or sponsored by NASA starting in 1958 and continuing to the present.

NASA History Division

  • The NASA History Division preserves NASA’s documentary record, stimulates the study of aerospace history, and communicates historical information within NASA and to the public

NASA History Office Publications

  • The NASA History Publications is offered for the public by the NASA History Division in Washington, D.C. The publications website contains a listing of over 200 books, most of which are freely available to the public. Many titles have been made available for download online.

NASA Alumni League, JSC Chapter

  • Supports the nation’s space programs with technical expertise, educational outreach, and financial contributions to STEM organizations.

Space Center Houston

  • Space Center Houston is a science museum that serves as the official visitor center of NASA Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas. The center features more than 400 space artifacts, permanent and traveling exhibits, exhibits and experiences, and theaters related to the exciting future and remarkable past of America’s human space-flight program

 

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002