Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NASA Johnson Space Center (JSC) History Collection

Information on the JSC History Collection at the UHCL Archives and Special Collections; created by Erin Henry and Matthew M. Peek

JSC History Collection Series Descriptions

The NASA Johnson Space Center History Collection is arranged in the following series, which are available through the University of Houston-Clear Lake Archives and Special Collections. The former Johnson Space Center History Office (which was reorganized withotu the same organizational structure and title as of 2022) has provided UHCL Archives with typed series and section inventories, for which a large number of these inventories have been placed online in the UHCL Neumann Library Institutional Repository (IR), under "UHCL Archives and Special Collections." The series inventories are linked to the series descriptions that follow, but all of them can be found on this page for the JSC History Collection in the UHCL IR*: 

  • Apollo Series

    • The Apollo Series consists of documents that were collected from various sources at Johnson Space Center, NASA contractors, and other NASA centers. Items in this series include correspondence, reports, mission transcripts, press kits, presentation charts and more. Much of the Apollo Series has been digitized, and the original boxes of records taken back into the custody of NASA and the National Archives. UHCL Archives has digitized copies of many of the boxes' records in large PDF documents. Currently, we do not have the series inventories online.

  • Apollo–Soyuz Test Project (ASTP) Series

    • This series consists of source files gathered from research for the publication The Partnership: A History of the Apollo Soyuz Test Project. This series includes information on Soviet programs and authors, news clippings, public affairs data, as well as the chronological files from the program offices and the working group documentation. There is also flight-related data including flight transcripts and mission reports.

  • Center Series

    • The Center Series chronicles administrative and engineering aspects of the Johnson Space Center from its beginning. Documents range from the mid-1950s through the early 1990s. It includes the correspondence files of Johnson Space Center administrators, and large sets of records covering multiple NASA missions/projects. The Center Series includes the manned flight crew schedules; White Sands Test Facility Files; US and Russia files; official papers of JSC director George Abbey; and the Apollo Food System team/Food Systems development records of Rita Rapp. official records of many of the NASA personnel whose personal papers are housed in the UHCL Archives and Special Collections' Human Space Flight Collection (like Aleck C. Bond and Maxime Faget).

  • General Reference Series

    • The General Reference Series is a collection of NASA and Johnson Space Center reference materials, journal articles, news clippings, brochures, photographs, internal JSC management instructions, announcements and center newspapers. It also contains original period publications and books produced or used at Johnson Space Center. The material ranges from the 1960s to the 1990s. 

  • Shuttle Series

    • The Shuttle Series consists of copies of documents received from various sources, covering the design and development of the Space Shuttle orbiter vehicles for NASA Johnson Space Center. The bulk of the collection is dated from the late 1960s through the late 1970s; however, documents from the 1950s to the late 1980s exist in the series

    • The Shuttle Series is divided into approximately 60 subseries, which are organized either by subject (Aerodynamic Design Data Books, Cost Documents, Flight Planning Documents, Mission Documents, etc.), or by source (Air Force Reports, Boeing Documents, Craig Papers, Lunney Documents, etc.). Currently, we do not have the series inventories online.

  • Skylab Series

    • The Skylab series consists of correspondence, post Apollo planning documents, requirements documents, mission plans, spacecraft configuration documents, stowage lists, technical summaries, management and design review data, Skylab systems information, air to ground transcripts and mission reports, as well as Skylab experience reports. Documents cover the Skylab program as well as its predecessors the Apollo Extension System (AES) and the Apollo Applications Program (AAP).

  • Space Station Series

    • The Space Station Series contains early space station files (1952-1984) that were collected by and/or given to the Johnson Space Center History Office over a period of 21 years from offices that oversaw specific space station studies at NASA. These included the Advance Spacecraft Technology Division. Documents contain information on early space station studies, including information on Space Station Freedom, predecessor to the International Space Station. Documents range from 1994 and the mid-1990s. 

    • Space Station Freedom was a NASA project to construct a permanently-crewed, Earth-orbiting space station during the 1980s. Many of the documents for Space Station Freedom were received on standard distribution throughout NASA and Johnson Space Center. 

  • Johnson Space Center Oral History Project

    • The JSC Oral History Project contains oral history interviews of audio, video, and/or transcribed data, with information covering NASA's human space flight program, ranging from the Mercury program through the Shuttle and Space Station programs. There are several different oral history projects that compose this series. The largest part of the series consists of the JSC Oral History Project interviews. These general interviews cover each interviewee's career with NASA, with primary focus on their time at Johnson Space Center in Houston.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

*In 2011, large sections of the Apollo, ASTP, and Skylab series were scanned into PDF files by JSC. These electronic files are available via reference request by contacting the UHCL Archives and Special Collections or the former JSC History Office historian and archivist (as listed on the Office's website). The paper copies of these documents are now located at the National Archives and Records Administration, Fort Worth Regional Archives. -JSC History Portal

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002