Finance and Economics: Articles & Journals

Useful resources for Finance & Economics

Find Articles in Research Databases

Depending on your topic, these databases may be relevant. If needed, more choices are in Databases A-Z.



Advanced Search

Sample searches:
   "critical thinking" AND "higher education"
   (race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*)
Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly & peer-review, full text online, etc.

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

Google Scholar Search

 peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

  • uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
  • has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
  • may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

Shows Find It at UHCL leading to full text in EBSCOhost PsycARTICLES

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Locating Print Journals

Library floor plans

  • Current issues are shelved in alphabetical order in the Current Periodicals area (main floor)
  • Bound journals are shelved like books, in call number order in the General Stacks

Key Finance & Economic Resources

Find peer-reviewed journal articles in research databases:

More article databases for psychology
Database access (settings, troubleshooting tips, and more)

Find ebooks and more:

Research Consultation Desk (Bayou Bldg., room 2402, 2nd floor)

Off-campus access, troubleshooting tips, and more:

Loan periods, renewals, IDs and borrower cards, course reserves, study areas, printing, and more:

Borrowing from other libraries:

Graduate students:

More information:

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002