Psychology: Articles & Journals

Library resources for research and study in Psychology

Find Articles on a Topic

Complete list of library research databases: Databases A-Z

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.

Complete list of library research databases: Databases A-Z



Search OneSearch for a DOI (digital object identifier) or a distinctive "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed.

Sample citation and searches:

Robbins, B. G. (2016). Probing the links between trustworthiness, trust, and emotion: Evidence from four survey experiments. Social Psychology Quarterly, 79, 284-308. doi:10.1177/0190272516657546

 

  • 10.1177/0190272516657546
  • "trustworthiness trust and emotion"
  • "trustworthiness trust and emotion" robbins

Find journals by journal title or ISSN


Sample searches:
journal of family issues
0192-513X (ISSN example)

              Click to access a list of psychology journals

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

  • uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
  • has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
  • may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Loading ...

Tutorials & Help

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic

These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.

(1:43) Learn how logical operators AND and OR work to help you get good results in library research databases.

 

(1:55) Learn how to retrieve varying forms of a word and improve search results.

(4:53) Learn how to improve search results with official subject terms, "explode" a thesaurus term, narrow exploded results, and use major subject headings.

PsycINFO on EBSCOhost tutorials from APA:
  • The newest additions to PsycINFO (especially articles with a publication status of "first posting" may not have subject terms assigned yet. While the results won't be as tightly focused, you also may want to try using subject terms as simple keywords (i.e., without requiring them to appear in a subjects field).
  • Don't limit to full text when you're exploring a topic in depth. You'll miss full text that's available via Find It @ UHCL.

 

Shows search that limit terms to Subjects field along with limiters for peer reviewed, English language, and methodology empirical study

Shows search for an exact subject term with limiters for peer reviewed, age group adolescence, and population group male

 

Shows search for suicide prevention or suicidal behavior prevention in Subjects and adolescen* or teen* in Subjects and research or study or studie* or data in the Abstract field, limited to peer-reviewed

Loading ...

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

Shows Find It at UHCL leading to full text in EBSCOhost PsycARTICLES

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Locating Print Journals (optional)

Library floor plans

  • Current issues are shelved in alphabetical order in the Current Periodicals area (main floor)
  • Bound journals are shelved like books, in call number order in the General Stacks

Find call numbers for bound journals in OneSearch.

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002