Texana: Digital Collections

Digital collections related to gospel music, sheet music, Texas history, and U.S. Civil War.

The "Online Exhibits" contain digital selections from the collection including photographs, maps, documents, and oral histories. The online exhibits cover many topics. Of particular note, the George Isidore Sanchez papers contain documentation of conditions in migrant labor camps and schools for Mexican-American children in Texas.

The Bexar Archives are the official Spanish documents that preserve the political, military, economic, and social life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahulia y Texas, up to 1836. Includes digital images of more than 5,000 original documents and translations.

Strengths of the collections at the Briscoe Center include the American South, civil rights, military history, energy & natural resources, news media history, Texas history and Western Americana, among others.

Digitized city council books, audio recordings, and maps at the San Antonio city archives.

Digital collections related to history in and around Corpus Christi, Texas.

Digitized photographs, maps, film news clips, oral histories, and more from the Houston area.

Collections pertaining to Beaumont, TX. Collection of photographs and memorabilia about female athlete Babe Didrickson Zaharias.

Digitized materials submitted by archives across Texas.

Digital collections and exhibits focus on the founding and history of Rice University, digitized copies of the student newspaper "Rice Thresher," slavery and the Battle of Sabine Pass, Houston waterways, and the architectural career of William Ward Watkin, among others.

Digitized collections include Texas Military Veteran video oral histories, Breitenbach Mexican Mask Collection, Sam Houston State University archives, and more.

Digital collections covering a variety of topics in Texas and Southwestern history, including the Civil War, railroads, Dallas historic aerial photographs, historic Texas documents, photographs of historic periods/events in Mexico, and more.

Digital collections related to Northeast Texas as well as other topics including the Korean War, WWII, and African American history.

Digital collections related to science fiction, Don Quixote, and Texas history.

Archives Collections

Documents and photographs chronicling the history of the university and its law school – faculty, staff, students and alumni. The W.J. Durham Papers contain digitized court documents from the attorney who represented Heman Sweatt, alongside Thurgood Marshall, in Sweatt v. Painter.

Digital collections including a digitized edition of The Account and Commentaries of Governor Alvar Nunez Cabeza de Vaca. Spanish conquistador Cabeza de Vaca was shipwrecked in 1528 on what is now Galveston Island and was the first European to explore what is now Texas and the Southwest. Also, a behind the scenes look at the making of the television miniseries Lonesome Dove and documents relating to the Branch Davidians of Waco.

Documents and photographs relating primarily to Lubbock, Tx.

A collection of digitized documents and manuscripts, still and moving images, audio recordings, oral histories, maps, artifacts, and more related to the Vietnam War. Topics include military operations, POW/MIA, My Lai massacre, Agent Orange, antiwar activities, and more.

Particularly useful for women's history. Archive of documents, manuscripts, photographs, oral histories, and artifacts with a strong focus on women. Some topics: women in the military, women airforce service pilots, women in aviation, African American women, women's athletics, women's organizations, and women's activism and political participation. Not all items are available online.

Digital collections related to the history of Houston, Texas and the University of Houston. Includes photographs and documents about suffragist Minnie Fisher Cunningham, civil rights leader Alonso S. Perales, the Houston Negro Hospital founded in the 1920s, and more.

Audio, transcripts and photographs from the personal recollections of 173 Tejanos and Tejanas and their struggle against racial discrimination in post-World War II Texas.

Digital collection includes text and images of Texas constitutions from 1824-1876, papers of Justice Tom C. Clark relating to some of the most important Supreme Court cases of the 20th century, description of the Justices of Texas from 1836-1986, and more.

Digital collections include UTEP publications, El Paso city directories, and photograph collections, as well as oral histories of participants in the Bracero Program from the Institute of Oral History.

The UTHSCSA Digital Archive consists of four primary Collections: History of Medicine, University History, Electronic Theses & Dissertations, and University Records.

Digitized collections from the Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC) Library and the UTSA Libraries including Hemisfair 1968, Contemporary Indians of Texas, San Antonio Light photographs, San Antonio River Authority, Mexican manuscripts, UTSA history, and more.

Digitized photographs related to the history of the coastal bend of Texas.

This digital repository of the Abilene Library Consortium includes oral history transcripts, historical photographs, letters, maps, student newspapers and yearbooks, and more for Abilene and the surrounding region.

Links to primary and secondary sources including digital primary sources, archives, personal papers, bibliographies, and biographies.

Personal collection of website author for digitized historical postcards of Tyler, Texas. Categories include buildings, views, events, and miscellaneous.

Website of the TXGenWeb Project. Postcards are not dated individually but dating guidelines are povided on the home page. Categories include Texas courthouses, statewide postcards, town postcards, and county postcards.

Digitized postcard images including Houston’s commercial buildings, Galveston’s beaches, and San Antonio’s Alamo. Drawn from the larger George Fuermann Texas and Houston Collection, this group reresents the subset of postcards that date from before 1925. Fuermann was a reporter and then editor for the Houston Post.