Texas Handbook Online
The Handbook of Texas Online is the best starting point for information about the history of Texas. Most articles are followed by a brief list of references.
Find Articles in Research Databases
Texas Newspapers and More
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowDescribes collections of historical documents, personal papers, and family histories found in "archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies" located primarily in the U.S.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text for news sources from around the world, including broadcast transcripts, plus law review journals, statutory, case law, and other legal resources, company and industry information, and more
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from regional U.S. and international newspapers; also includes television and radio news transcripts
- Texas Digital Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large-scale, fire insurance maps produced from 1867-1970; coverage dates vary for individual cities and towns
- Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from magazines and reference books about or published in Texas
Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.
Texas Indians
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text of journals, magazines, newspapers, and books on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Previously called Bibliography of Native North Americans
- ITC Contemporary Indians of Texas Documentary SeriesUTSA Library website
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics
"critical thinking" AND "higher education"
(race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*)
Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly & peer-review, full text online, etc.
While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.
A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:
- uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
- has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
- may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleExplains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries