Research Guides: Core Curriculum Assessment: Teamwork

Core Objective Definition

Teamwork (TW) - ability to consider different points of view and to work effectively with others to support a shared purpose or goal

Team-Based Learning: Group Work that Works
Twelve-minute flash video on team-based learning, especially in the context of the large class.
Teamwork attitude, interest, and self-efficacy: Their implications for teaching teamwork skills to engineering students
Example of a discipline-specific article about teaching teamwork.
Team-Based Learning Collaborative
This higher education membership association offers many free resources and holds an annual conference.

Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from business-related magazines and journals
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, magazines, and trade publications, including industry and country reports, MarketLine company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles (EJ references) and Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) documents (ED references)
Professional Development Collection (Education) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and trade magazines for educators

Thinking Collaboratively by D. Randy Garrison
Theoretical and practical guide to thinking and learning in deep and meaningful ways within purposeful communities of inquiry.
Taming of the Team by Jack Berckemeyer
Ebook; includes a dynamic Action Plan for improving student behavior as well as tips for using teams to address Common Core State Standards.
Team-Based Learning in the Social Sciences and Humanities by Larry K. Michaelsen (Editor)
Ebook; teachers who use TBL report high levels of engagement, critical thinking, and retention among their students. Introduces the elements of TBL and how to apply them in the social sciences and humanities.
Designing Groupwork by Elizabeth G. Cohen; Rachel Lotan
Features significant updates on the successful use of cooperative learning to build equitable classrooms. Incorporates current research findings with new material on what makes for a groupworthy task. Shows how groupwork contributes to growth and development in the language of instruction.