Research Guides: Core Curriculum Assessment: Personal Responsibility

Core Objective Definition

Personal Responsibility (PR) - ability to connect choices, actions and consequences to ethical decision-making

On Course Principles
Comparison of successful and unsuccessful students around which the On Course curriculum is developed, this provides some criteria for Personal Responsibility.
Promising Practices for Personal and Social Responsibility
These findings from a national research collaborative are a product of AAC&U's Core Commitments: Educating Students for Personal and Social Responsibility initiative.

Ethical Reasoning VALUE Rubric
AAC&U rubric for assessing ethical reasoning skills; preview only
Foundations and Skills for Lifelong Learning VALUE Rubric
AAC&U rubric for assessing lifelong learning disposition and skills.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles (EJ references) and Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) documents (ED references)
Professional Development Collection (Education) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and trade magazines for educators
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (sometimes delayed for six months or more) for approximately 400 journals in psychology and related fields
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association (APA) content with selected full text articles from approximately 2,500 journals, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, and more

Developing and Assessing Personal and Social Responsibility in College by Robert D. Reason (Editor)
Ebook; the Association of American Colleges and Universities Core Commitments Initiative focused attention on personal and social responsibility as outcomes of a college education. Explores the research and practice related to the development of personal and social responsibility in college. Provides instructive examples of good practice at both the programmatic and institutional levels.