Research Guides: Core Curriculum Assessment: Social Responsibility

Core Objective Definition

Social Responsibility(SR) - intercultural competence, knowledge of civic responsibility, and the ability to engage effectively in regional, national, and global communities

Web Sites

Promising Practices for Personal and Social Responsibility
These findings from a national research collaborative are a product of AAC&U's Core Commitments: Educating Students for Personal and Social Responsibility initiative.
Fostering Personal and Social Responsibility on College and University Campuses
From AAC&U

Assessment

Civic Engagement VALUE Rubric
AAC&U rubric for assessing civic knowledge and engagement—local and global.
Intercultural Knowledge and Competence VALUE Rubric
AAC&U rubric for assessing intercultural knowledge and competence; preview only

Selected Relevant Article Databases

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles (EJ references) and Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) documents (ED references)
Professional Development Collection (Education) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and trade magazines for educators
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from English-language journals and magazines in the social sciences
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in sociology and related areas of history, anthropology, social work, political science, psychology, and law

Featured Titles

Civic Engagement in Higher Education by Barbara Jacoby
Comprehensive guide to developing high-quality civic engagement experiences for college students. Defines civic engagement and explains why it is central to a college education.
Democracy's Education by Harry C. Boyte (Editor)
Democracy's Education grows from the American Commonwealth Partnership, a year-long project to revitalize the democratic narrative of higher education. Details practical approaches to making change, from new faculty and student roles to changes in curriculum and student life and strategies for everyday citizen empowerment.
Developing and Assessing Personal and Social Responsibility in College by Robert D. Reason (Editor)
Ebook; the Association of American Colleges and Universities Core Commitments Initiative focused attention on personal and social responsibility as outcomes of a college education. Explores the research and practice related to the development of personal and social responsibility in college. Provides instructive examples of good practice at both the programmatic and institutional levels.