Research Guides: Children's and Teens' Resources: K-12 Resources & Government Documents

Curriculum Library Textbooks

Selected Texas state-adopted K-12 textbooks can be found in the Curriculum Library on the library's upper level (map). All books in the Curriculum Library except designated reference books (REF) may be checked out for 3 weeks.

Search for UHCL K-12 textbooks by keyword:

Use quotation marks for an "exact phrase"
Select and apply Location filter UHCL Curriculum Current to results

Research Databases

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedia intended for children
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from magazines and reference books suitable for use by elementary school students
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from popular and news magazines, plus brief biographical essays and historical documents, for use by middle and junior high school students
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text news, magazine articles, and commentary on current events and topics for use by students in grades 5-12
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly MAS Ultra-School Edition; selected full text of magazine and news articles, plus biographical and reference sources, suitable for a high school library

Government Publications for Kids

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Building Blocks for a Healthy Future
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
CIA's Homepage for Kids: Spy kids

Digital Collections (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
Texts, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience and more, with selected content formerly found in American Memory collections

Kids' House (Texas House of Representatives)
Library of Congress: America's Story
Library of Congress: Read.gov
NASA Kids' Club
National Gallery of Art: NGA Kids Art Zone
NGAkids activities are designed for children to use—unassisted—in a recreational, nonacademic context
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences: NIEHS Kids' Pages
Includes "Sing-a-Long Songs"
OurDocuments.gov
A National Initiative on American History, Civics, and Service
Sci4Kids
US Department of Agriculture
Texas Department of Transportation: Publications for Kids
Texas Parks & Wildlife: Kids Page
Texas Senate Kids