Research Guides: Children's and Teens' Resources: Home

Find Books & Audiobooks for Children & Teens

To find a specific title:

Use quotation marks for an "exact phrase"
If results are unclear, try an advanced search where you can:
- restrict terms to the title field
- add creator's name in author field if needed

To find children's books on a given topic (e.g., polar bears), select and apply relevant Location filters to search results, including:

Pearland Juvenile Collection
UHCL Easy Book Collection
UHCL Juvenile Collection
UHCL Juvenile Reference Collection

Find Children's Books in OneSearch

Find resources for children and teens by genre with these shortcuts. There may be some false matches.

Click on the following links to see the books the library owns for a specific award.

Review detailed records for awards notes as some false matches may occur.

Award and honor site homepages:

Best Fiction for Young Adults & Top Ten List (YALSA)
Caldecott Medal
For American picture book illustration awarded by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA).
Coretta Scott King Award
Honors African-American authors and illustrators for books that "promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society." Awarded by the American Library Association (ALA), Ethnic and Multicultural Exchange Round Table.
Geisel (Theodor Seuss) Award
Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Award
Texas Lone Star Reading List
Texas Maverick Graphic Novels Reading List
Michael L. Printz Award
Newbery Medal
Children's Notable Lists (ALA)
Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children (NCTE)
Pura Belpre Medal
Robert F. Sibert Medal
Schneider Family Book Award
Texas Bluebonnet Award
Texas 2x2 Reading List

Search by keyword (e.g., siblings), and then select and apply relevant filters to your results:

Language: Spanish
Location: UHCL Easy Book Room, UHCL Juvenile Collection, Pearland Juvenile Collection, etc.

For more complex searches like siblings OR "brothers and sisters", use Advanced Search. See sample results below with active filters for Spanish language and locations of UHCL Easy Book Collection and UHCL Juvenile Collection:

Sample results as described above

Map of upper floor with Curriculum Library, Juvenile Reference, Easy Book Room, and Juvenile locations noted

Classification numbers used for children's fiction may not be unique.

Fic Wil 2005 for example is used for:

Each Little Bird That Sings by Deborah Wiles
Broken China by Lori Williams
Brothers in Hope by Mary Williams
The Illustrated Mum by Jacqueline Wilson

Write down or remember the author's name. When you get to the right shelves (Juvenile Fic Wil in this example), books are filed alphabetically by author, then subfiled by title. The date is ignored.