Research Guides: FINC4351.01 + FINC6531: International Finance: Citing & Writing Help

Amerian Psychological Association - APA Style

APA Publication
Manual
Resources on
APA Style

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
7th ed., Circulation-Reserve, Research Desk, and Pearland Reference BF76.7 P83

See also APA Style, which includes instructional aids (a student title page guide, reference quick guide, and more) and a searchable blog.

The following also may be of help, but always verify with the latest edition of the official style manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide
Online Writing Lab, Purdue Univ.
APA Style Tip Sheet
(7th ed.) UHCL Writing Center
APA Style website
Includes popular style guidelines, tutorials, instructional aids, and blog posts that address common style questions. A publication of the American Psychological Association.
Citation Fox - APA
Univ. Libraries, SUNY Albany
NoodleTools Express
A free online citation builder for APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian styles; requires several preliminary steps to reach citation template

Citation Made Easy

Citations are easy to create. Use UHCL Library's OneSearch to look for the icon, as shown below.

Look for similar citation logos from within various databases.

UHCL Writing Center

UHCL Writing Center
Offers individual appointments, online tip sheets, and assistance with all kinds of writing projects

Help for Avoiding Plagiarism & more...

Avoiding Plagiarism
Recognizing when a citation is needed, acceptable paraphrasing, etc.
Literature Reviews
Resources about preparing a review of the literature
Annotated Bibliographies
Resources and tips for different kinds of annotated reference lists
About Writing
Books and ebooks on English usage, grammar, writing clearly, etc.
Writing Centers
Purdue's OWL resources and more

Citation Management Software

EndNote citation management software is a great resource to help you save and organize your sources, and also allows you to easily create bibliographies with the Microsoft Word plugin. Students, faculty, and staff who wish to install the program at home can do so from the EndNote Download guide link provided below. The guide includes:

detailed instructions for Windows, Mac, and iPad
tutorials and help
information about free EndNote Web
and more

EndNote21 Download Guide

For additional training resources, visit the EndNote website.

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, open-source citation management software that uses a web browser extension to save screenshots, full-text PDFs, and citation information from websites, databases, library catalogs, and other search tools with a single click.

With Zotero you can:

Save citation information, screenshots, and available full-text
Access your library online and sync to multiple devices
Use folders and tags to organize your research
Create group libraries for collaborative projects
Generate citations and bibliographies in Word, Google Docs, and LibreOffice

Zotero
Free tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research
ZoteroBib
For creating immediate, single-use bibliographies without downloading the full Zotero

Always verify output with the latest edition of official style manuals.

NoodleBib (now NoodleTools) Express was among the most accurate of free citation builders tested in 2011 by H. F. Chang, Oklahoma State Univ. Library
Mendeley is a free, downloadable citation management program that offers storage, organizational, and sharing options
Both support APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian styles

NoodleTools Express
Requires several preliminary steps to reach citation template
Mendeley
From Elsevier

Do you need to cite a source but lack complete information or aren't sure where you found something? Try searching all you do have (author? title? a source name?) in Google Scholar. If that doesn't help, contact us.