Find Books & Ebooks
- Ebooks are included in the Library Catalog
- The databases below offer additional options, including full-text searching
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowEbooks in business, economics, computer science, humanities, life and physical sciences, social and behavioral sciences, technology, and more; formerly called Ebrary
- Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowEbooks on a wide range of subjects, primarily academic in focus, and mostly in English; also includes some works of fiction
Ebook Help: Downloading Ebooks from Library Databases
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIdentifies books and media in libraries from around the world
- Usually provides snippets or previews
- Includes full text if a book is not under copyright protection
If you find a book in WorldCat, Google Books, or some other source:
- Search for it in OneSearch
- If UHCL doesn't have an available copy but another UH library does, sign in and use Request under Get It
- Or submit a Book Request via ILLiad, and we will contact more libraries
Downloading Ebooks
To download an ebook to your device from a detailed view in OneSearch:
- Click a full text source link (e.g., Ebook Central) that is available to UH Clear Lake users
- Look for a link to download the book. Sometimes downloading a full book is not possible, but you may be able to download a specific chapter or selected pages. Please keep in mind that downloading the full book can reduce access to it by other patrons. We recommend downloading individual chapters instead.
- For instructions for a specific database or vendor, click the navigation tabs above or the links on the right of this guide.
