Find COMM Articles:
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and magazines with some coverage for books and conference papers - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(1984- ) Selected full text for journals in all areas of the arts, including graphic design, film, photography, and more. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowMostly full text for a wide range of general news, business, legal, and government sources.
Find CRIM Articles
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and some full-text to peer-reviewed articles in hundreds of journals in criminal justice and criminology
Find EDUC Articles:
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for approximately 2,850 journals, with additional coverage for books and conference papers - ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center, provides more than 1 million abstracts of documents (some available in full-text) and journal articles (some available in full-text in the EBSCO version) on education research and practice
Find GEOG Articles
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles, books, and conference proceedings on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, pollution, and affiliated areas of study - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics
Find PSYC Articles:
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association (APA) content with selected full text articles from approximately 2,500 journals, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, and more - APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A small subset of PsycINFO; provides complete full text for approximately 120 journals by APA and affiliated publishers - Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (sometimes delayed for six months or more) for approximately 400 journals in psychology and related fields
Find SOCI Articles:
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in sociology and related areas of history, anthropology, social work, political science, psychology, and law - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations in sociology and related fields
Google Scholar
While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for setting Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.
Multidisciplinary Database
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
Find an article or journal
Sample searches:
Keywords: (juvenile OR youth) AND police interaction
doi:
Article/journal title: Effective police interactions with youth, Police Quarterly
- Request a book, article, or other itemILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
Get an article from a citation:
Sample citation:
Berigan, N., & Irwin, K. (2011). Culture, cooperation, and the general welfare. Social Psychology Quarterly, 74, 341-360. doi:10.1177/0190272511422451
If the citation includes a DOI (digital object identifier), copy and paste it (e.g., doi:10.1177/0190272511422451) into OneSearch. If there's no DOI but the article title has a distinctive phrase, try searching the phrase with quotation marks (e.g., "culture cooperation and the general").
- Request a book, article, or other itemILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic
These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.
- Step 1: Choose a Relevant Research DatabaseLearn how to find subject-specific and other research databases in Databases A-Z and library research guides
- Step 2: Create an Effective First SearchLearn how to choose keywords and how to use logical operators, wildcards, basic limiters, and more
- Step 3: Critically Review and Refine Search ResultsLearn how to identify scholarly articles and to find and use database subject terms, field, and other specialized limiters