Research Guides: Social Work: Books & Ebooks

Search for Books & Ebooks

Sample searches:
child abuse prevention
"social work" "evidence based practice"

How to Renew Books Online
(0:54) Learn how to renew materials in your OneSearch account.

Use the Library Catalog's Request feature to get a book from another campus
Sample detailed record:

Example of a library catalog record.

See these classifications in the General Stacks:

HN1 - HN995	Social history and conditions, social problems, social reform
HV40 - HV5840	Social service, social work, charity organization and practice

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Identifies books and media in libraries from around the world

Usually provides snippets or previews of content and includes full text if a book is not under copyright protection. See also Advanced Search. Check the Library Catalog to see if UHCL owns a desired book.

More Book and Media Resources

If you find a book in WorldCat, Google Books, or some other source:

search for it in the Library Catalog
if UHCL doesn't have an available copy, use the Library Catalog's Request feature if another UH library has an "in library" copy

or submit a Book Request form, and we will contact more libraries

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon

Ebooks are included in the Library Catalog, but ebook databases offer additional search options, including full-text searching.

APA PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text chapters from books published by APA and other scholarly publishers
Counseling & Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives & Reference Works This link opens in a new window
Provides "...transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives..., as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material."
DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th ed., plus related Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Clinical Cases, and Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria (Spanish ed.)
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebooks in business, economics, computer science, humanities, life and physical sciences, social and behavioral sciences, technology, and more; formerly called Ebrary
Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on a wide range of subjects, primarily academic in focus, and mostly in English; also includes some works of fiction
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Full text overviews of diverse subjects, including ancient warfare, climate, consciousness, economics, game theory, Islamic history, literary theory, privacy, and more from Oxford Univ. Press

Ebook Help: Downloading Ebooks from Library Databases

More Book and Media Resources

Subpages

Sample Subject Terms for Advanced Search

child welfare united states
evidence based social work
psychiatric social work
public welfare united states
social group work
social justice
social policy united states
social service united states
social work administration
social work with minorities
social work with older people
social workers