Research Guides: Social Work: Tests & Measures

Find Test Reviews & More

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text reviews of commercially available assessment instruments plus directory information (test purpose, publisher, price, intended population, scores, administration times, etc.)

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
(1974-2008) Reference BF431 .G625. See also title index, vols. 1-7 (Reference BF431 .J29 2001)
Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business
Reference BF176 .T43 2008
Test Critiques
(1984-2005) Reference BF176 .T419

APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text measures and scales, most of which include permission for use in research and teaching

bedtime procrastination scale (in Title field)

Sample search in PsycTESTS as described above

major depression (in Subjects field)
AND latin* OR hispanic*
with limiters for Spanish language and permission to use for research/teaching

Sample search in PsycTESTS as described above

Reliability and Validity in PsycTESTS via EBSCOhost
(2:04) How to find information about test reliability and validity in PsycTESTS. APA, 2012.

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association (APA) content with selected full text articles from approximately 2,500 journals, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, and more

To find studies that used a specific test, look for the test name in the Tests & Measures field:

Sample search in PsycINFO as described above

In results detailed records:

An appended note means the test may be included in the source article, but there's no guarantee
If provided, a DOI (digital object identifier) link will retrieve content from PsycTESTS

Portion of detailed record indicating Heavy Episodic Drinking Measure is appended and providing digital object identifier

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles (EJ references) and Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) documents (ED references)

Limit a search to publication type Tests/Questionnaires. The document abstract usually indicates whether an instrument is appended.

ERIC publication type limiter for tests/questionnaires

ETS Test Link (Educational Testing Service) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes tests and assessment instruments; library has selected full text (LB3051 .T45 Microfiche Area); tests available in microfiche have a "TIM" test acronym code in ETS records

To find tests that are in microfiche or downloadable for $25:

Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Constructs
Ebook (2015). Unless otherwise indicated, seek permission for use.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook
Reference and Pearland Reference BF176 .C66 2013 Vol. 1: Couples, Families, and Children; Vol. 2: Adults. Seek permission for use of individual instruments.
Assessment Scales in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Reference RJ503.5 .V48 2006. Includes either the full scale or sample items. Indicates which scales are in the public domain and can be used without permission.
Assessment Scales in Old Age Psychiatry
Ebook (2nd ed., 2004). Unless otherwise indicated, seek permission for use.

Sample Request for Permission to Use a Psychological Test
Used with permission and based on Appendix E of the Senior Thesis Handbook (2009-2010), Psychology Department, Dominican University of California
Instrument Permissions FAQ