Research Guides: Political Science: Background Information on a Topic

Reference Works Can Help You...

CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
Original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that U.S. lawmakers considered during congressional sessions from 1945 - 2017
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical essays on "the world's most influential people," both contemporary and historical, with videos, images, magazine and newspaper articles, and more
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary ebook collection. Search or browse encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks in the arts, biography, business, education, environment, general reference, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, and social science.
Britannica This link opens in a new window
Academic edition of Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Full text entries accompanied by video clips, images, audio, related websites, and more. Includes timelines, a world atlas, and Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Defines and illustrates through quotations the use of English language words from the earliest known occurrence to the present day. A landmark historical resource.

Resources for Statistics
Find statistical data from government websites and other recommended sources

If you'd like to browse the Reference Area (1st level of the library), see these classifications: