Research Guides: Political Science: Find Articles & Journals

Find Articles in Research Databases

CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
Original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that U.S. lawmakers considered during a congressional session. 1945 - 2012
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for over 12,500 journals plus books, reports, and more
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and magazines relevant to global and comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, and more; also includes reference book entries and conference papers
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primary full text

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.

Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Selected full text.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for over 860 journals in sociology and related areas of history, anthropology, social work, political science, psychology, and law

CIA World Factbook

Sample searches:
"celebrity influence" AND ("political campaigns" or "fund raising")
"religion" AND (school* OR educat*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, date, etc.) on results screen

Image of sidebar with instructions: If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL to check for full text from another source. If full text fails to load, expand the Find It @ UHCL Neumann Library sidebar on the right of the screen for more options, including links to submit an article request or chat with a librarian.

Google Scholar

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

About Scholarly Articles & Peer Review

Peer review is the process where experts from the same subject field or profession as the author evaluate a manuscript before it is accepted for publication in an academic or scholarly journal.

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Subpage

Search Tips

Journals List

When you already have a citation to an article or want to know whether the library has a specific journal, search here for the journal title.