Research Guides: Statistics: Home

Statistical Data & Report Sources

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Online edition of annual statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States
Gale Business: Insights Global This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text case studies, statistical data, news articles, journal articles, and topical reference materials organized by company, industry, and country; includes SWOT reports
Heritage Quest This link opens in a new window
Largest collection of genealogy material in the country; includes the U.S. Federal Census, 1790-1950, with page images and corresponding indexes

Business Dynamics Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau. Provides annual measures of business dynamics (such as job creation and destruction, establishment births and deaths, and firm startups and shutdowns) for the economy and aggregated by establishment and firm characteristics
QWI Explorer
U.S. Census Bureau. Analysis tool that enables access to the Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI) dataset. Compare, rank and aggregate QWIs across time, geography, and/or firm and worker characteristics.

Data.Census.Gov This link opens in a new window
U.S. Census Bureau search tool for all of its data and digital content, including population, demographic, social, and economic facts and figures

USA.gov Data and Statistics
Gateway to statistics from U.S. federal government agencies
National Bureau of Economic Statistics
A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Concentrates on developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the economic effects of public policies, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals.
OECD Data
Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development. Provides a global overview of today’s major economic, social and environmental indicators.
OECD Factbook Statistics
Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development. Access to OECD statistical data sets. You can create and download your own data queries.
United Nations Statistical Yearbook
Access the current UN Statistical Yearbook, a comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels. Downloadable PDF files.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the U.S. economy.
World Bank Data
International economic and social data

State & County Quick Facts
U.S. Census Bureau. Provides frequently requested information at the national, state, county, and city level
My Congressional District
U.S. Census Bureau. View statistics covering age, employment, education, and much more
IPUMS USA
University of Minnesota. The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series is more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2012. Samples draw on every surviving census from 1850-2000, and the 2000-2012 ACS samples provide quantitative information on long-term changes in the American population.

Data.Census.Gov This link opens in a new window
U.S. Census Bureau search tool for all of its data and digital content, including population, demographic, social, and economic facts and figures

USA.gov Data and Statistics
Gateway to statistics from U.S. federal government agencies
Statistical Abstract of the United States
U.S. Census Bureau (2012 ed.); also available at Reference Desk HA202
Texas State Data Center & Office of the State Demographer
Distributes Census information, population estimates and projections for Texas, as well as other information from the federal government, state government, and other sources.
National Historical Geographic Information System
(1790- ) U.S. Census data tables and mapping files

CIA World Factbook
Demographic Yearbook
United Nations
Also available in the library: Most recent print version in Reference; previous years in General Stacks HA17 .D45
PRB DataFinder
Population Reference Bureau. Search indicators & locations, and easily create custom reports. Includes demographics, economics, education, health & more.
United Nations Statistical Yearbook
Access the current UN Statistical Yearbook, a comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels. Downloadable PDF files.
World Bank Data
International economic and social data

CDC National Center for Health Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC: Data & Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC WONDER
Access statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials, reports and guidelines on health-related topics.
USA.gov Data and Statistics
Gateway to statistics from U.S. federal government agencies
National Health Expenditure Data
Measures annual health spending in the U.S. by type of good or service delivered (hospital care, physician and clinical services, retail prescription drugs, etc.) and source of funding for those services (private health insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, out-of-pocket spending, etc.).
Wolfram|Alpha
Computes answers to questions using data, from primary sources and official public and private websites, which is curated by experts. Includes education, healthcare, socioeconomics and much more.

Data.gov
Access to many US national datasets
USA.gov Data and Statistics
Gateway to statistics from U.S. federal government agencies
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology through preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources & production of original research based on archived data.
Wolfram|Alpha
Computes answers to questions using data, from primary sources and official public and private websites, which is curated by experts. Includes education, healthcare, socioeconomics and much more.