Industry Specific Sources
Links to reliable, industry specific websites and resources:
- BitpipeWhite papers, research guides, webcasts and case studies on various IT topics such as web services, networking, telecommunication, software development, storage, wireless and more.
- CompInfoThe Computer Information Center
One-stop reference resource for corporate IT, computer software, computers, and communication. - TechRepublic: Research LibraryIncludes webcasts, white papers, file downloads and more with information on various aspects of technology. Also has blogs and forums.
- The Information Technology Professional's Resource CenterProvides links to networking related information available on the net, forums for IT professionals to interact, and full-text information and data on a variety of technologies.
- The Virtual Library: Computing and Computer ScienceThe WWW Virtual Library (VL) is the oldest catalogue of the Web, started by Tim Berners-Lee, the creator of HTML and of the Web itself. It is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for areas in which they are expert. The VL pages are widely recognised as being amongst the highest-quality guides to particular sections of the Web.
- W3SchoolsThis online Web-building resource covers everything from basic HTML to advanced XML. Brush up on your coding skills or use its tutorials to teach yourself new Web-coding disciplines. The site also includes tips and stats to help optimize your new Web site.
Find Articles in Research Databases
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from ACM journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and some co-sponsored publications - Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles for English-language journals, reports, conference papers, etc., in engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, waste management, and more - IEEE Courses This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Continuing education and professional development courses from the eLearning Library of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE); account required to receive CE credit - IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles and proceedings of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology; includes full text of active IEEE standards - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication
Conference Proceedings
Business Aspects
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, magazines, and trade publications, including industry and country reports, MarketLine company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text of journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers and dissertations on economics literature from around the world - Gartner This link opens in a new window
Research and analysis about the global information technology industry, including product information, evaluations, recommendations, and measurement services of technology issues and trends
- Plunkett Research This link opens in a new windowAnalyzes industry trends, including finances, markets, technologies, deregulation, research/development and globalization; also includes industry statistics, company profiles, glossaries, and more
- Gale Business: Insights Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text case studies, statistical data, news articles, journal articles, and topical reference materials organized by company, industry, and country; includes SWOT reports
Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
- CiteSeerX (Computer Science) This link opens in a new windowFull text, open access computer science articles, papers, and technical reports
- Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowIdentifies journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports; some entries provide abstracts and cross-references to citing or cited publications
- Computer Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and magazines covering computers, telecommunications, electronics and the Internet
- Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and more
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowIndex with selected abstracts for American Mathematical Society journals, books, and proceedings
- Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, trade, and popular magazines covering scientific and technical fields
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowFull text overviews of diverse subjects, including ancient warfare, climate, consciousness, economics, game theory, Islamic history, literary theory, privacy, and more from Oxford Univ. Press
Sample search:
"critical thinking" AND "higher education"
(race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen
While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.
A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:
- uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
- has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
- may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleExplains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
Peer Review in 3 Minutes
(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
Get Full Text for an Article
If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.
If full text is not found, submit an article request.
- Request a book, article, or other itemILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
