Research Guides: Counseling: Home

Welcome

This subject guide is intended to lay out research tools and resources to assist you with your projects and assignments pertaining to counseling courses and assignments. Sometimes knowing which resources are available to you, and how to use them, can feel overwhelming and daunting with so many tools at your disposal. This guide will give you some of the best resources that cover a wide variety of counseling subjects, if you are looking for a specific subject matter pertaining to your course please check out our Course Guides.

In this guide you will find:

► Books & eBooks

► Citation & Writing Help

► Open Access Resources

► Research Databases & Journals (located below)

► Research Help

► Videos & Streaming Media

Don't Forget

Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials, and your UHCL Login credentials to access online material.

One Search

OneSearch

Advanced Search

Databases

A library database is an online searchable collection of information, and these are provided to you without additional fees or costs through the library. Many of these databases will search more than just journal articles, and dissertations or theses, you will also find items such as newspaper articles, book reviews, court cases, and magazine articles.

If you don't see a database here that you are looking for try out A to Z Database page.

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A small subset of PsycINFO; provides complete full text for approximately 120 journals by APA and affiliated publishers
APA PsycEXTRA This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for psychology-related gray literature: technical and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, brochures, newspaper articles, and more
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association (APA) content with selected full text articles from approximately 2,500 journals, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, and more
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for approximately 2,850 journals, with additional coverage for books and conference papers
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles (EJ references) and Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) documents (ED references)
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from biomedical and related journals, with clinical guidelines and more from the National Library of Medicine
Professional Development Collection (Education) This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and trade magazines for educators
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (sometimes delayed for six months or more) for approximately 400 journals in psychology and related fields
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in sociology and related areas of history, anthropology, social work, political science, psychology, and law
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Subject Databases

A subject database is a database that pulls information from a variety of journals and sources on a specific subject matter. Many of these databases will search more than just journal articles, and dissertations or theses, you will also find items such as newspaper articles, book reviews, court cases, and magazine articles.

If you don't see a database here that you are looking for try out A to Z Database page.

Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from major journals and sources in family studies, marriage, divorce, and family therapy
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from major and historically significant lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender journals, magazines, regional newspapers, and books. Name changed from LGBT Life with Full Text
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles, dissertations, books, and more on post-traumatic stress disorder; sponsored by U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs; formerly PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from major journals and sources in ethnic studies, discrimination, ideology, community relations, and immigration studies

Journals

Journals are scholarly publications containing articles written by researchers, and other professional experts within their respective fields. Journals, unlike many databases, will provide more: peer-reviewed content, and original research. Additionally, journals are typically intended for an academic or technical audience and will be focused on a specific field of research.

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A small subset of PsycINFO; provides complete full text for approximately 120 journals by APA and affiliated publishers
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics
PLOS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from journals in science and medicine, including PLOS ONE, PLOS Biology, PLOS Genetics, PLOS Medicine, PLOS Pathogens, and more
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from Elsevier journals in the physical sciences/engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences/humanities
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from over 500 social work and human services journals; produced by National Assn. of Social Workers (NASW)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles and books published by Wiley

Counseling and human development
Counseling and Human Development is a scholarly journal published in United States focused on Children And Youth - About and Education.
Counseling outcome research and evaluation
Publishes practical research on Counseling Outcome measures in clinical practice, including treatment efficacy and clinical diagnostics.
Group dynamics
Group Dynamics is the forum for empirical research on all aspects of groups, and so primarily publishes data-based papers that test hypotheses about groups.
Journal of counseling and development : JCD
The Journal of Counseling & Development is a peer-reviewed academic journal published quarterly by Wiley-Blackwell on behalf of the American Counseling Association. The journal was established in 1921 as the National Vocational Guidance Bulletin.
Journal of humanistic counseling
The Journal of Humanistic Counseling is a biannual peer-reviewed academic journal published by Wiley-Blackwell on behalf of the Association for Humanistic Counseling, a division of the American Counseling Association.