Chemistry

Chemical Abbreviations, Acronyms, and Synonyms

• Acronyms and Abbreviations database
• Compendium of Chemical Terminology (IUPA Gold Book)

 Chemical Data Sources

• ChemBioFinder (requires free registration)
• Chemical Book (Chemical product database with global supplier information)
• ChemIDplus (National Library of Medicine)
• ChemView  (Environmental Protection Agency)
• Common Chemistry (Chemical Abstracts Service)
• NIST Chemistry WebBook
• NIST Physical Reference Data
• Organic Compounds Database
• Organic Syntheses Online
• PubChem (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
• SIRI MSDS Index (Material Safety Data Sheets)
• Where to find MSDS on the Internet

Web Gateways and More

• ChemistryCentral (open access to Chemistry)
• Chemistry Commons (Digital Commons Network)
• ChemSpider (free chemical structures database; Royal Soceity of Chemistry)
• ChemWeb (requires free registration)
• Internet Public Library Reference Collection: Chemical Sciences
• Classical Papers in Chemistry (selected full text)
• Science.gov 
• Science Daily
• Winners of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1901 - present)

Patent Resources

• Canadian Patents Database (1925 - present)
• European Patent Office (Espacenet)
• German Patent & Trademark Office (DPMA)
• Japanese Patent Office:Industrial Property Digital Library (public access to Japanese patents & trademarks)
• U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (fulltext U.S. patent 1976 - present; images 1790 - present)

Chemistry Career Information

• Salary & Employment Data (ACS Careers)
• Resume Preparation (ACS Careers)
• Interviewing Techniques (ACS Careers)
• ChemistryWorldJobs (RSC; requires free registration)

Find overviews or introductions to a subject in encyclopedias and some specialized dictionaries and handbooks. Reference works may help you put into context a narrow topic on which you're working or help you identify possible directions for a topic you're exploring. They'll also help you identify facts, names, dates, etc.

• Chemistry (Gale Virtual Reference Library) 4 volumes
• Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography (Gale Virtual Reference Library) 27 volumes
• Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics (Gale Virtual Reference Library) 4 volumes
• The Gale Encyclopedia of Science  (Gale Virtual Reference Library) 6 volumes
• World of Forensic Science (Gale Virtual Reference Library) 2 volumes