Research Guides: Chemistry: Articles & Journals

Does the Library Have a Specific Journal?

Journals
List
Journal Abbreviations
Sources

Find Articles in Research Databases

ACS Publications (American Chemical Society) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for most ACS journals and their supplementary materials
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, technical reports, books, and more in chemistry, biology, biotechnology, and engineering; first-time user registration required
SciFinder-n registration for first-time users This link opens in a new window
UHCL email address required
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Depending on your topic, these databases may be relevant. If needed, more choices are in Databases A-Z.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles for English-language journals, reports, conference papers, etc., in engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, waste management, and more
APS Journals (American Physical Society) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from popular science magazines, professional journals, and the New York Times Science Section
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations on North American geology dating from 1693 and world geography since 1933 found in geoscience journal articles, books, maps, and more; selected full text via Find It @ UHCL
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in science, engineering, and technology; plus conference proceedings, reports, books, and more
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from biomedical and related journals, with clinical guidelines and more from the National Library of Medicine
PLOS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from journals in science and medicine, including PLOS ONE, PLOS Biology, PLOS Genetics, PLOS Medicine, PLOS Pathogens, and more
PubMed (UHCL) This link opens in a new window
Includes UHCL subscriptions; off-campus access restricted to UHCL users; indexes "biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books" with selected full text
Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, trade, and popular magazines covering scientific and technical fields
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from Elsevier journals in the physical sciences/engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences/humanities
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles on natural science, engineering and technology, from scholarly, trade, and industry journals, technical reports, and proceedings
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles, books, and reference works published by Springer
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles and books published by Wiley

Sample searches:
"antimicrobial polymers"
adriamycin AND toxic*
adriamycin AND toxic* AND (cardiac OR heart)

Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly & peer-review, full text online, etc.

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
Locating Full Text Articles and Journals