Research Guides: BIOL/BIOT 5736: Bioethics (old): Find Articles

Find Articles in Research Databases

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
Includes a BIOETHICS subject subset limiter; selected full text articles from biomedical and related journals, with clinical guidelines and more from the National Library of Medicine
PubMed (UHCL)
Includes UHCL subscriptions; off-campus access restricted to UHCL users; indexes "biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books" with selected full text
BIOSIS Previews
Indexes biomedical and life sciences research in theoretical and applied biology; provides organism, taxa, development stage, chemical role, and other biology-specific limiters
AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
National Agricultural Library's book catalog and journal article citation index (selected full text via EBSCOhost)
BioOne
Selected full text articles from approximately 80 journals and bulletins in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences
Academic Search Complete

Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
Web of Science
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

For additional choices, see the Biological Sciences research guide or Databases A-Z.

Sample searches:
ethical issues with preimplantation diagnosis
"preimplantation diagnosis" ethic*

Refine your search with filters on results screen: peer-reviewed journals, available online, etc.

For more complex searches like "preimplantation diagnosis" AND (ethic* OR bioethic*), use Advanced Search.

All that JAS (Journal Abbreviations Sources)
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) Journal Abbreviations
Caltech Library, California Institute of Technology
Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations
Woodward Library, University of British Columbia

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

When You Already Have a Citation

Sample citation:
Shaw D, McMahon A. 2013. Ethicovigilance in clinical trials. Bioethics. 27(9):508-513.

Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier). If there's no DOI, search for an "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:

doi:10.1111/j.1467-8519.2012.01967.x
"ethicovigilance in clinical"
"ethicovigilance in clinical" shaw

If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
Locating Full Text Articles and Journals