This course guide for Writing Composition II is intended to lay out research tools and resources to assist you with your projects and assignments throughout the course. Some of the resources on this page are represented to help give you exposure to other writing styles, and dynamics, in comparison to what you have learned thus far. However, this guide will help you navigate the library resources best suited for your course, no matter if you are a distance learner, or in person.
|
Please try our General Writing Guide if these resources do not provide what you are looking for.
Don't ForgetUse your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials, and your UHCL Login credentials to access online material.
A library database is an online searchable collection of information, and these are provided to you without additional fees or costs through the library. Many of these databases will search more than just journal articles, and dissertations or theses, you will also find items such as newspaper articles, book reviews, court cases, and magazine articles.
If you don't see a database here that you are looking for try out A to Z Database page.
This link opens in a new windowSelected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
This link opens in a new windowSelected full text articles from regional U.S. and international newspapers; also includes television and radio news transcripts
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSpanish-language, full text academic and general interest articles and publications on a variety of topics and current events
This link opens in a new windowJournals are scholarly publications containing articles written by researchers, and other professional experts within their respective fields. Journals, unlike many databases, will provide more: peer-reviewed content, and original research. Additionally, journals are typically intended for an academic or technical audience and will be focused on a specific field of research.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences
A subject database is a database that pulls information from a variety of journals and sources on a specific subject matter. Many of these databases will search more than just journal articles, and dissertations or theses, you will also find items such as newspaper articles, book reviews, court cases, and magazine articles.
If you don't see a database here that you are looking for try out A to Z Database page.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSelected full text articles from biomedical and related journals, with clinical guidelines and more from the National Library of Medicine
This link opens in a new windowSelected full text articles from journals, trade, and popular magazines covering scientific and technical fields
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowFull text content from multiple Gale databases, including Contemporary Authors, Literature Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and more
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSelected full text articles from journals and magazines relevant to theology, religion, and philosophy
Reference resources summarize topics, provide background information, as well as aid you in finding other resources or literature on the subject matter. These resources can also be used for quick facts, statistics, or learning specific vocabulary, and contain bibliographies for further reading. When you are not sure where to get started with your research, using a reference source can help you explore a variety of topics to help you gauge interest, or compatibility with your assignment without having to spend too much time searching.
| Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002 |
In this guide you will find: