Research Guides: Veterans Resources: Articles & Journals

Find Articles in Research Databases

Studying the military veteran experience is an interdisciplinary process, drawing on topics such as sociology, medical issues, psychology, legislation, and much more. Listed below are some databases which will help you get started.

DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center)
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Selected full text for journal and magazine articles, books, and more on world history and related social science literature with a focus on areas outside the U.S. and Canada
Homeland Security Digital Library
Full text public documents "related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management." Access to restricted documents requires an account. Sponsored by FEMA's National Preparedness Directorate and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
PubMed (UHCL)
Includes UHCL subscriptions; off-campus access restricted to UHCL users; indexes "biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books" with selected full text
Sociological Abstracts
Selected full text for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations in sociology and related fields

National Security Archive
A collection of published, declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

Military & Government Collection
Selected full text articles from journals and popular/trade magazines dealing with all branches of the military and government
PTSDpubs
Selected full text for journal articles, dissertations, books, and more on post-traumatic stress disorder; sponsored by U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs; formerly PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.

Academic Search Complete
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more

Sample searches:
"critical thinking" AND "higher education"
(race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*)
Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly & peer-review, full text online, etc.

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
Locating Full Text Articles and Journals

Veterans Resources

Find Articles in Research Databases

Sample searches: "critical thinking" AND "higher education" (race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*) Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly & peer-review, full text online, etc.

Get Full Text for an Article

Sample searches:
"critical thinking" AND "higher education"
(race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*)
Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly & peer-review, full text online, etc.