Research Guides: Public Health: Articles & Journals

Find Articles on a Topic

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from biomedical and related journals, with clinical guidelines and more from the National Library of Medicine
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in sociology and related areas of history, anthropology, social work, political science, psychology, and law
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from medical and professional journals, health and fitness magazines, and reference materials in support of nursing education and consumer health
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from scholarly journals focusing on nursing and allied health professions; also includes drug information sheets from the American Society of Health System Pharmacists

Complete list of library research databases: Databases A-Z

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and magazines relevant to global and comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, and more; also includes reference book entries and conference papers
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from sports and sports medicine journals, magazines, books, and more
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from magazines, journals, and news sources, plus biographical and reference sources, suitable for a public library
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text articles, pamphlets, reports, book excerpts, etc., on alternative health and wellness

Complete list of library research databases: Databases A-Z

Search OneSearch for a DOI (digital object identifier) or a distinctive "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed.

Sample citation and searches:

Robbins, B. G. (2016). Probing the links between trustworthiness, trust, and emotion: Evidence from four survey experiments. Social Psychology Quarterly, 79(3), 284-308. https://doi.org/10.1177/0190272516657546

10.1177/0190272516657546
"trustworthiness trust and emotion"
"trustworthiness trust and emotion" robbins

Sample searches:
american journal of sports medicine
0363-5465 (ISSN example)

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
Locating Full Text Articles and Journals