Research Guides: NURS 4313: Nursing Research: Open Access & Online Resources

Open Access

Open access (OA) is a global movement and a publishing model that strives to provide open and free access to scholarly research publications and data.

American Nurses Association: Ethics & Human Rights
Life and death decisions are a part of nursing, and ethics are therefore fundamental to the integrity of the nursing profession. Every day, nurses support each other to fulfill their ethical obligations to patients and the public, but in an ever-changing world – there are increased challenges.
Journal of Clinical Case Studies
A journal with personalized medicine in mind. Where clinicians and medical doctors are interested in clinical case presentations, each patient case presented in this journal provides new insights in diagnosis and treatment methods.
SAGE: Open Medical Case Reports
A publication home for short case reports which often do not find a place in traditional primary research journals, but provide key insights into real medical cases that are essential for physicians, and may ultimately help to improve patient outcomes.
Texas Board of Nursing: Laws & Rules
This manual, based on statutory authority as provided for in Chapters 301, 303, and 304 of the Texas Occupations Code Annotated (Nursing Practice Act), has been prepared by the Texas Board of Nursing. It sets forth the rules and regulations established by the Board to regulate nursing education and the practice of nursing in the state.

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources (OER) are learning, teaching and research materials in any format and medium that reside in the public domain or are under copyright that have been released under an open license, that permit no-cost access, re-use, re-purpose, adaptation and redistribution by others. OER differs from Open Access as Open Educational Resources will include things such as textbooks, teaching material, presentations, ebooks, and more.

Digital Commons Network: Medicine and Health Sciences Commons
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Johns Hopkins Bloombery School of Public Health Open Courseware Initiative
The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health has launched the initial phase of its OpenCourseWare project, which provides free and open access to some of the School’s most popular courses. The course content is available through the Internet to students, self-learners and educators anywhere in the world.
Kahn Academy: Health & Medicine
Practice exercises, instructional videos, and reference materials.
Merlot: Health Sciences Community Portal
Welcome to the MERLOT Health Sciences Portal, and educational resource for teaching and learning. This site includes over 40 different subjects including nursing, nutrition, and radiology.
Merlot: Nursing
Assignments, assessment tools, case studies, courses, textbooks, and more.
OER Commons: Health, Medicine and Nursing Collection
OER Commons is a database of open educational resources created in 2007 by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education. Resources available in the Health, Medicine, and Nursing Collection include full courses, lectures, videos, articles, etc.
Open RN
Contains simulations and peer-reviewed textbooks.

Online Resources

The online resources that are provided supplemental academic support through your course, that are accessible through the internet and open to the public.

Grand Valley State University: Citing Laws in APA
Learn how to cite a law or legal document in APA for nurses.
Lived experiences of nursing students about ethical concerns
An article that explores the experiences of nursing students about the ethical concerns regarding the use of mobile devices for learning purposes.

EBSCO's 7 Steps to PICO
A document created by EBSCO to be used to help you develop and strategize your search based on your PICO question.

A nurses’ guide to the hierarchy of research designs and evidence
This article provides a breakdown of the components of the hierarchy, or pyramid, of research designs.
Its intention is to simplify the components of the hierarchy to enable novice readers of research to better understand the differing approaches and levels of evidence.