This guide for Nursing Research is intended to lay out research tools and resources to assist you with your projects and assignments throughout the course. Sometimes knowing which resources are available for your program or course, and how to use them, can feel overwhelming and daunting with so many tools at your disposal. This guide will help you navigate the library resources best suited for your course, no matter if you are a distance learner, or in person.
|
Please try our Nursing Research Guide if these resources do not provide what you are looking for.
Don't ForgetUse your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials, and your UHCL Login credentials to access online material.
A library database is an online searchable collection of information, and these are provided to you without additional fees or costs through the library. Many of these databases will search more than just journal articles, and dissertations or theses, you will also find items such as newspaper articles, book reviews, court cases, and magazine articles.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowSelected full text articles from scholarly journals focusing on nursing and allied health professions; also includes drug information sheets from the American Society of Health System Pharmacists
This link opens in a new windowSelected full text articles from biomedical and related journals, with clinical guidelines and more from the National Library of Medicine
This unique package combines the expansiveness of Ovid Emcare—millions of records, continually updated each year-with the power and prestige of over 80 of today’s top nursing and health professions journals from the industry leader, Lippincott®.
Journals are scholarly publications containing articles written by researchers, and other professional experts within their respective fields. Journals, unlike many databases, will provide more: peer-reviewed content, and original research. Additionally, journals are typically intended for an academic or technical audience and will be focused on a specific field of research.
This link opens in a new windowPrimarily full text articles, pamphlets, reports, book excerpts, etc., on alternative health and wellness
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from journals in science and medicine, including PLOS ONE, PLOS Biology, PLOS Genetics, PLOS Medicine, PLOS Pathogens, and more
Reference resources summarize topics, provide background information, as well as aid you in finding other resources or literature on the subject matter. These resources can also be used for quick facts, statistics, or learning specific vocabulary, and contain bibliographies for further reading. When you are not sure where to get started with your research, using a reference source can help you explore a variety of topics to help you gauge interest, or compatibility with your assignment without having to spend too much time searching.
| Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002 |
In this guide you will find: