Research Guides: Government Documents and Information: U.S. Census Data

2020 U.S. Census

2020 Census Results
On August 12 2021, Census Bureau released the redistricting data to the states and the public.
U.S. Census Bureau's Statistics in Schools (SIS)
Statistics in Schools (SIS) brings school subjects to life using real-world Census Bureau statistics to create materials for use year after year for K-12 students. Explore this site for engaging resources and activities in social studies, math, English, geography, sociology and more.
Integrated 2020 Redistricting Data (PL94-171)
Cornell Center for Social Sciences integrated the four parts and made them available in convenient ready-to-use formats -- SAS, SPSS, STATA, and CSV. We've also made available SAS, STATA, and SPSS programs to read the CSV files, label the variables, and assign variables their correct type (as per the data dictionary).

U.S. Census Bureau

Census Bureau Maps - Interactive
Work with interactive mapping tools from across the Census Bureau.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
QuickFacts (State and County)
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation’s leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online edition of annual statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States

1950 Census
The 1950 census will be released digitally on April 1, 2022. The digital images will be accessible online free of charge. The 1960 and later censuses are not available for public use because of a statutory 72-year restriction on access for privacy reasons. (92 Stat. 915; Public Law 95-416; October 5, 1978).
If you need information about yourself or a deceased person from the 1960 or or later censuses, fill out Form BC-600 from the Bureau of the Census Age Search Service or write to: U.S. Census Bureau, National Processing Center, 1201 East 10th Street, Jeffersonville, IN 47132.
data.census.gov
Use the single search bar to search on a geography such as their state, county, or place, and see an overview of that area in a geographic profile with visualizations and infographics

Additional Economic Data

The Census Bureau produces economic/business data across the entire economy.

Annual Survey of Manufactures
Statistics for Industry Groups and Industries presents manufacturing establishments statistics at the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) levels. Available from 2008 to 2020.
County Business Patterns
Data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets.
Current Industrial Reports
Data (2011 ceased publication) on production and shipments of selected products. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.
Economic Indicators
1995 to present.
Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more.
Foreign Trade
Official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need.
Survey of Business Owners (SBO)
Provides the only comprehensive, regularly collected source of information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status. Title 13 of the United States Code authorizes this survey and provides for mandatory responses.

U.S. Census of Population & Housing Statistical Reports for Previous Years

Why We Conduct the Decennial Census of Population and Housing?
The framers of the Constitution of the United States chose population to be the basis for sharing political power, not wealth or land.

“Representatives and direct Taxes shall be apportioned among the several States which may be included within this Union, according to their respective Numbers…”

- The Constitution of the United States, Article I, Section 2.

The census asks questions of people in homes and group living situations, including how many people live or stay in each home, and the sex, age and race of each person. The goal is to count everyone once, only once, and in the right place.

Source: Census.gov

Decennial Census of Population and Housing by Decades: 1790 to 2020
Although the U.S. Census Bureau carries out hundreds of surveys every year, its most well-known duty is still to conduct the decennial census. Census results have several high profile applications: they are used to reapportion seats in the House of Representatives, to realign congressional districts, and as a factor in the formulas that distribute hundreds of billions of dollars in federal funds each year.

Census of Population & Housing Reports in the Library's Government Documents Collection
Lists selected census reports available in the Government Documents collection by call number. Includes print, microfiche, CD-ROM, and DVD.

Historical Census Data (Statistical Reports)

The Census Bureau has been digitizing the historical census reports, and these are available on the first website listed below.

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 - Part 1
Bicentennial Edition.
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 - Part 2
Bicentennial Edition.
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000
This report contains detailed information on the questionnaires and instructions used for each census, plus individual histories of each census.
The Story of the Census, 1790 – 1916

Historical Census Data (Population Schedules)

Historians, demographers, and family researchers all make use of the actual census schedules, where individuals are listed with various information about them such as age, relationship, marital status, birthplace, citizenship, and occupation.

For a list of questions asked in each census year, consult the Census Bureau's Index of Questions (1790-2020) or Measuring America.

For the availability of original census records, see new FactFinder for the Nation: Availability of Census Records About Individuals.

Heritage Quest This link opens in a new window
Largest collection of genealogy material in the country; includes the U.S. Federal Census, 1790-1950, with page images and corresponding indexes

Historical Apportionment Data Map
This interactive tool enables users to view more than 10 decades of apportionment and population data

Government Documents and Information

U.S. Census Bureau Tweets