Research Guides: Reference, Dictionaries, and Quick Facts: Home

Use Reference Collection Resources to...

Use reference collection resources to:

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Full text academic edition of Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster Dictionary; includes video and audio clips
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Full text overviews of diverse subjects, including ancient warfare, climate, consciousness, economics, game theory, Islamic history, literary theory, privacy, and more from Oxford Univ. Press

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Current social issue topic overviews, including pro/con viewpoint essays, academic journal and news/magazine articles, images, videos, statistics, and more
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedia articles, biographical entries, primary sources, images, and more relevant to African American studies and Africa and diaspora studies
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Current scientific topic overviews, including selected full text for journal and news/magazine articles, images, videos, interactive data maps, and more

Abbreviations.com
Search or browse acronyms and abbreviations by category
All that JAS (Journal Abbreviations Sources)
Bartleby.com Quotations
Includes Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, Columbia World of Quotations, Simpson's Contemporary Quotations, and Respectfully Quoted: A Dictionary of Quotations
Cambridge Dictionaries Online
Includes Learner's Dictionary, Advanced Learner's Dictionary, Dictionary of American English, International Dictionary of Idioms, International Dictionary of Phrasal Verbs, Klett Compact French / English Dictionary, and Klett Compact Spanish / English dictionary from Cambridge University Press.
Google Translate
Translate to and from over 50 languages
Merriam-Webster Dictionary Online
Includes dictionary, thesaurus, medical dictionary, Scrabble dictionary, & English-Spanish translator. Click tab above search box to change where you search.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Landmark historical resource that defines and illustrates through quotations the use of English language words from earliest known occurrence to present

Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Texas Almanac

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical essays on "the world's most influential people," both contemporary and historical, with videos, images, magazine and newspaper articles, and more
Heritage Quest This link opens in a new window
Largest collection of genealogy material in the country; includes the U.S. Federal Census, 1790-1950, with page images and corresponding indexes
Gale Literature: Something About the Author This link opens in a new window
Full text essays cover the life, writings, critical reception, and more for authors and illustrators in all genres of English-language literature for children and young adults
Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new window
Full text biographical and critical essays about authors from the ancient world to 20th century

AnyWho
Includes toll-free and reverse lookup searches and links to international telephone directories

AtoZdatabases (Business & Marketing) This link opens in a new window
Addresses, phone numbers, sales volume, credit rating, SIC codes, and more for U.S. businesses and executives; also includes directory information on U.S. residents
Cabells This link opens in a new window
Scholarly analytics, contact information, submission guidelines, acceptance rate, type of review, etc., "journalytics" for journals in business, education, psychology, computer science--business information systems, and health administration; also documents violations in "predatory reports" that have questionable peer review or publication practices, website inconsistencies, etc.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes approximately 5,500 journals, including scope, circulation, and submission requirements
Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes U.S. and international journals, magazines, and newspapers
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Describes serials and periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.)